If you see this button while searching in one of our databases:
Click on the button and it will search within the library's databases to find the full text version of the article for you. If the full text version cannot be found, simply click on Request item via ILL and it will request the article for you through our Interlibrary Loan system, ILLiad. The article will then be emailed to your Jaguar account within a week or two.
The following databases allow you to search thousands of scholarly journal articles , conference papers and other similar research documents by keywords, author or other criteria.
Search Tip: An article doesn't have to restate your exact thesis to be useful, try to find bits of evidence in the literature that supports your thesis.
A comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Includes international literature of sociology and social work, as well as relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, and population studies. Supports hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations.
Articles and monographs from the 1940s pertaining to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental technology and law, urban planning and more.
A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Encompasses all aspects of agriculture, including veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and environmental sciences.
Offers scholarly, government, and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment by individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
This collection provides full-text access to over 2300 peer-reviewed, Elsevier journals from 2010-present. Search for information pertaining to the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and more.
A collection of academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. This collection was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.
This resource contains full-text journals on topics ranging from “green” issues and initiatives, LEED, recycling, corporate social responsibility, federal, state and local regulations, and more.
View more search tips and videos on the Research Help Tutorials tab on the guide.
What is a scholarly article?
Many professors require students to cite scholarly journal articles in their research papers. Scholarly journals contain articles written by scholars for scholars. Articles are reviewed by other scholars before they are published. This is called peer review.
Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" or "peer reviewed" journals.
Types of scholarly articles
There are two different kinds of scholarly articles researchers cite frequently in their work.
Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly literature on the web, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from one place. You can also access library resources from Google Scholar as well!
If you are on-campus, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
Peer reviewed articles are articles that have been evaluated by the writer's colleagues (peers). The idea with peer review is that the reviewers uphold standards within the field in terms of research methodology, style, ethics, etc.
Most academic databases will allow you to find peer reviewed articles by simply checking a box as you refine your search.
Need a reminder on the peer review process? Check out this video by NCSU Libraries.
