If you see this button while searching in one of our databases:
Click on the button and it will search within the library's databases to find the full text version of the article for you. If the full text version cannot be found, simply click on Request item via ILL and it will request the article for you through our Interlibrary Loan system, ILLiad. The article will then be emailed to your Jaguar account within a week or two.
Search the databases below to find scholarly journal articles pertaining to Victorian authors, literature and culture.
Search Tip: An article doesn't have to restate your exact thesis to be useful, try to find bits of evidence in the literature that supports your thesis.
Provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their own literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. The database features primary works in a variety of genres, up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews that encourage interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Access this collection of integral journals for the humanities and social sciences, including many published by prominent university presses and scholarly societies.
Nearly 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907 offering worldwide content including articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works of fiction, as well as reviews of performing arts (movies, ballets, plays, etc).
This collection includes Scribner literature titles that focus on different aspects of world and genre literature. World literature titles include African Writers, Latin American Writers, Ancient Writers, and more. For example, African Writers is a 2-volume set that covers 65 African writers from seventeen countries writing in English, French, Portuguese, Arabic, and indigenous languages. Authors span the late 19th century to the present and include such figures as: Najib Mahfuz, Wole Soyinka, and Nadine Gordimer. Genre titles include Mystery and Suspense Writers, Science Fiction Writers, Writers for Young Adults, and more. For example, Mystery And Suspense Writers is a 2-volume set on mystery, detective, and espionage fiction and covers in 84 articles some of the most influential and popular writers of the genre, including Elmore Leonard, Sue Grafton, and Patricia Cornwell.
Twayne's Author Series is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. This online series features the content of more than 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors--and is an ideal starting point for research papers on literary works and figures, special projects and presentations. Users can quickly gain results by searching for a specific author, combining search criteria for a more complex search, or exploring thematic and chronological topics.
Encompasses over 86,000 essays and miscellaneous works from Britain, Canada, and America printed in over 7,000 anthologies dating as far back as 1985.
An exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
A scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. Includes British and American works from the long 19th-century, 1770-1920.
Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly literature on the web, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from one place. You can also access library resources from Google Scholar as well!
If you are on-campus, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
