A&M-SA Research Guides: Early Childhood Education Research Guide: Videos &amp; Tutorials for Research &amp; APA Writing/Citing

How to Use this Page

Not Sure How to Search Library Databases? Need More Help with APA Writing & Citing?

This page contains videos and tutorials particularly relevant to courses offered through the College of Education & Human Development.
Still have questions? Contact Kimberly Grotewold, Education Librarian.

Note: The organization of this page is mainly by subject/topic

Use the headings and scroll the page to find what most closely meets your needs.

Help Button image by TheDigitalArtist is licensed under a Pixabay license.

Counseling Tutorials & Videos

Counseling Research Tutorials (Include Activities to Complete)

Counseling Research: Getting Started
Introduces students to topic and keyword search development to be applied in the APA PsycInfo database, formerly called just PsycINFO.
Research in Counseling: Searching & Monitoring
Involves students in exploring ways to search the database PsycINFO, now called APA PsycInfo, and narrowing and broadening searches.

Counseling Research Videos

Searching PsycINFO for Counseling Topics--VIDEO
This video demonstrates how to search PsycINFO, now called APA PsycInfo, for counseling topics. It uses a "think-aloud" technique for explaining why to apply particular searching strategies.
Add More Databases to a PsycINFO Search--VIDEO
This video demonstrates how to do a combined database search starting with PsycINFO, now called APA PsycInfo. This involves using EBSCO's Choose Databases feature and selecting additional potentially relevant databases prior to searching.

Education Research & Related Topics

Education Research Tutorials (Include Activities to Complete)

Researching Education Topics-Getting Started
Complete this tutorial to consider various aspects of information seeking and creation as it relates to research in education. Includes discussion of formulating an appropriately narrow topic for a particular type of paper or project.
Researching Education Topics--Searching & Monitoring
Complete this tutorial for an overview of how to search education subject databases, including ways to create keyword searches from topic ideas and how to broaden and narrow searches using education topic examples.

Education Research Videos

Searching Education Source: Expanding & Narrowing a Search
This longer video demonstrates a search in the Education Source database and explores ways to both expand and narrow the results retrieved. It uses a "think aloud" approach to explain the reasons behind applying particular searching strategies.
Adding Multiple Databases to a Search in Education Source
This video focuses on how to expand a search on a specific topic in education by using the Choose Databases feature of EBSCO databases.

APA 7th Edition

These Tutorials & Videos Provide Various Levels of Assistance (Basic to Advanced) for APA 7th Edition

Tutorial: APA Citations 7th Edition
This tutorial by CREDO presents instruction on how to do in-text citations and reference list entries for books, journal articles, and websites according to APA Style, 7th Edition. Practice is provided through drag and drop activities
Basics of 7th Edition APA Style, an Academic Writer Tutorial
This tutorial created by the developers of APA's Academic Writer software covers numerous aspects of APA 7th Edition Style "including paper elements, format, and organization; academic writing style; grammar and usage; bias-free language; mechanics of style; tables and figures; in-text citations, paraphrasing, and quotations; and reference list format and order."

Citing Primary Sources (versus Using Secondary Citations) in APA Style, 7th Edition

Because scholarly academic journal articles cite many sources within various sections of their texts, it can be difficult to determine who should be credited for specific ideas and how to do this correctly in one's own writing. These videos are an attempt to break this down using specific examples from within sample articles.

Using Sources in APA 7th Edition Writing & Citing, Video 1: Primary vs. Secondary Sources
This video introduces the concept of primary and secondary sources within the context of identifying information to cite from a scholarly journal article in education.
Using Sources in APA 7th Edition Writing & Citing, Video 2: Identifying Primary Information to Cite
This video differentiates between primary information and secondary information within the context of an academic journal article in education. Suggests places to find information within an academic article that can be cited as primary to the authors of the sample article.
Using Sources in APA 7th Edition Writing & Citing, Video 3: Finding the Primary Source from a Citation
This video shows users how to locate the primary source for an idea cited within a sample academic journal article in education by using WorldCat.
Using Sources in APA 7th Edition Writing & Citing, Video 4: How to Do a Secondary Citation
This video demonstrates how to do a secondary citation using "as cited in" according to APA 7th Edition using the context of an academic journal article in education and a book to illustrate.

Early Childhood Education Research Guide

Library Services for Graduate Students Overview Video