A&M-SA Research Guides: Writing Help: General Writing Skills

Books in the Library

These books offer a more in depth explanation of the writing process and cover everything from picking a topic to drafting the paper. The majority of these items are in the library's reference collection, so they will always be available for you!

The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams
Call Number: REF Q180.55 .M4 B66 2008
ISBN: 9780226065656
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 9781603290241
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: REF LB2369 .T8 2007
ISBN: 9780226823362
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 9781433805592
Publication Date: 2009-07-15

Tutorials

View some of these quick tutorials for more help on the writing process.

Websites

The two websites below can provide you with great information on the writing process.

General Writing Resources--Purdue Online Writing Lab
These OWL resources will help you with the writing process: pre-writing (invention), developing research questions and outlines, composing thesis statements, and proofreading. There is also a section on common writing assignments such as annotated bibliographies, book reports, and research papers.
Writer's Handbook--University of Wisconsin, Madison
This writing handbook published by the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin, Madison details the writing process along with tips on how to improve your writing style including grammar and punctuation. Information on common writing assignments such as literary analysis papers, research papers, and scientific reports can be found here.
The Creative Penn
Featuring over 1000 text articles and over 100 hours of audio information, this site contains helpful information on writing and editing, publishing, book marketing and how to make a living from your writing.
The Elements of Style
This online reference book covers concisely the rules of usage of the English language and principles of composition most commonly violated.
Grammar Girl
Created by Mignon Fogarty, Grammar Girl offers short friendly tips to improve writing along with memory tricks to help users recall and apply difficult grammar rules.
Guide to Grammar and Style
This online reference book by Jack Lynch covers grammatical rules and explanations, comments on style, and suggestions on usage.
How to Use English Punctuation Correctly
This article breaks down the basics of correct punctuation into eight simple parts and even provides users with a printable punctuation cheat sheet.
Paradigm Online Writing Assistant
Helpful articles and activities covering every step of the writing process from inventing and arranging to convincing and revising can be found here.
The Tongue Untied
This blog provides instruction in basic grammar, sentence structure and word choice, and punctuation rules according to the Associated Press Style. Worksheets, quizzes and even a 10 week curriculum can be found here.
The Write Life
Dedicated to helping writers create, connect and earn, this website features blogs and publications focused on freelancing, trying to get published and marketing your own work.
The Write Practice
A writing blog that's all about deliberate practice where readers can put into practice what they've just learned.
Writers and Artists
From the home page of this site: "The best industry advice for writers and artists" with "expert advice articles, inspirational author interviews, competitions, a lively online community and editorial services for every stage of your writing journey."