If you see this button while searching in one of our databases:
Click on the button and it will search within the library's databases to find the full text version of the article for you. If the full text version cannot be found, simply click on Request item via ILL and it will request the article for you through our Interlibrary Loan system, ILLiad. The article will then be emailed to your Jaguar account within a week or two.
Each of the databases below provides articles from journals that have a slightly different focus on the topic of juvenile delinquency.
Search Tip: Before you begin your search, think of keywords that are related to your research question. If you can't find any relevent articles after your first search attempt, try again using different search terms. Remember, an article doesn't have to restate your exact thesis to be useful, try to find bits of evidence in the literature that supports your thesis.
This resource covers essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in the database’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Need help searching this database? Go to the Nexis Uni Guide for search tips!
A comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
From the American Psychological Association (APA), this is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
View more search tips and videos on the Research Help Tutorials tab on the guide.
What is a scholarly article?
Many professors require students to cite scholarly journal articles in their research papers. Scholarly journals contain articles written by scholars for scholars. Articles are reviewed by other scholars before they are published. This is called peer review.
Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" or "peer reviewed" journals.
Types of scholarly articles
There are two different kinds of scholarly articles researchers cite frequently in their work.
Peer reviewed articles are articles that have been evaluated by the writer's colleagues (peers). The idea with peer review is that the reviewers uphold standards within the field in terms of research methodology, style, ethics, etc.
Most academic databases will allow you to find peer reviewed articles by simply checking a box as you refine your search.
Need a reminder on the peer review process? Check out this video by NCSU Libraries.
Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly literature on the web, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from one place. You can also access library resources from Google Scholar as well!
If you are on-campus, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
