Chican@ Studies Research Guide

Census Bureau data and publications on race.

Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States. Conducted by U.S. Census and Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making

The Civil Rights Act of 1957 created the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Established as an independent, bipartisan, fact-finding federal agency, their mission is to inform the development of national civil rights policy and enhance enforcement of federal civil rights laws.

Legal Information Institute, organized by Cornell Law School, is a non-profit public service that provides no-cost access to current American and international legal research sources online.

Free government website from the Department of Homeland Security. Data on foreign nationals granted lawful residence in the U.S.

Free website of the Migration Policy Institute (MPI), an independent, nonpartisan think tank in Washington, DC that provides analysis and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. Their page on U.S. immigration includes tables and graphs of a number of relevant characteristics.

The Hispanic Heritage Foundation identifies, inspires, prepares, and connects Latino Leaders in the community, classroom, and workforce.

To mentor, develop and support Latino filmmakers with independent and diverse visions in the us and internationally, to provide and outlet and distribution opportunities for the content created and acquired to the non-theatrical and commercial world, to support the development and further education of school children via the audio visual arts, continuing to elevate standards of Latino audio visual story development and presentation of our culture.

Welcome! Making Face, Making Soul is a site by, for, and about Chicanas,
meaning women of Mexican descent in the United States.
This site contains a variety of resources ranging from short biographies of Chicanas,
to Chicana poetry and literature, cultural resources, academic resources, and more...

It is our mission to create a popular art with a 21st century tools that presents a more just and accurate account of human history, while encouraging the young women and men of a new generation to take control of their own destiny through creative discipline, vibrant education, economic independence, and artistic excellence.

This site provides a list of Latin American and Caribbean Collections as well as links to additional country resources.

The National Association for Chicana and Chicano Studies is the academic organization that serves academic programs, departments and research centers that focus on issues pertaining to Mexican Americans, Chicana/os, and Latina/os.

The National Network for Immigrant and Refugee Rights (NNIRR) works to defend and expand the rights of all immigrants and refugees, regardless of immigration status. Since its founding in 1986, the organization has drawn membership from diverse immigrant communities, and actively builds alliances with social and economic justice partners around the country. As part of a global movement for social and economic justice, NNIRR is committed to human rights as essential to securing healthy, safe and peaceful lives for all.

MEChA is an acronym that stands for Movimiento Estudiantil Chicanx de Aztlán. We are a student organization that promotes higher education, community engagement, political participation, culture, and history. MEChA chapters are often the only groups on campus that seek to open the doors of higher education for our communities and strive for a society free of imperialism, racism, sexism, and homophobia. MEChA is open to anyone, and does not exclude membership based on socio-economic status, gender, race, or orientation.

The Association for Borderlands Studies (ABS) is the leading international scholarly association dedicated to the systematic study and exchange of ideas, information and analysis of international border, and the processes and communities engendered by such borders

The oldest ethnic studies association in the United States, the Association for Ethnic Studies (AES) was founded in 1972. A non-profit organization, AES provides an interdisciplinary forum for scholars and activists concerned with the national and international dimensions of race and ethnicity.

The Association welcomes scholars and teachers at all educational levels, students, libraries, civic and governmental organizations, and all persons interested in ethnicity, ethnic groups, intergroup relations, and the cultural life of ethnic minorities.

An organization that supports Chicana, Latina, Afro-Latina, Native American and Indigenous, and gender non-conforming academics, students, and activist in higher education and community leadership.

LULAC is the largest and oldest Hispanic Organization in the United States. LULAC advances the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence, health and civil rights of Hispanic Americans through community-based programs operating at more than 700 LULAC councils nationwide. The organization involves and serves all Hispanic nationality groups.

Founded in 1968, MALDEF is the nation’s leading non-profit Latino legal organization. It promotes equality and justice through litigation, advocacy, public policy, and community education in the areas of employment, immigrants’ rights, voting rights, education, and language rights.

The non-partisan leadership organization of the nation's more than 6,000 Latino elected and appointed officials.

The largest national Latino civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States. Works to improve opportunities for Hispanic Americans in the United States.

The Center celebrates Latino culture and achievement in America through exhibits, research, collections, and educational programs.

Scholarly association for the comparative study of international boundaries and border regions.

Based out of the University of Southern California, this think tank is devoted to addressing the challenges and opportunities of demographic diversity through research, policy solutions, and student activities.

Since its founding in 1969, the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) has played a pivotal role in the development of scholarly research on the Chicano-Latino population, which is now the largest minority group in the United States. Our research mission is supported by five distinct components: a library with special collections archive, an academic press, collaborative research projects, public programs and community-based partnerships, and a competitive grant, scholarship, and fellowship program.

The Latino Studies Association (LSA) is a national learned society whose primary mission is to organize a bi-annual conference for scholars, organizers, culture workers, artists, and social entrepreneurs with expertise on the history, cultures, political and social experiences of Latina/os in the United States.

The American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education (AAHHE) is entering its fourteenth year and continues to address issues and concerns affecting Hispanics, with a focus on higher education. While the Hispanic population is the largest ethnic minority population in America, Hispanics are still highly underrepresented in the undergraduate and graduate enrollments and graduation rates.

TACHE is a professional association committed to the improvement of educational and employment opportunities for Chicanos in higher education.

To nurture queer Latina/o, Chicana/o, and Indigenous individuals and communities through practices that recognize the importance of linking art, activism, and scholarship.