Below are a few examples of peer-review journals that the University Library subscribes to that will be helpful for this class.
The following databases below will provide access to scholarly journal articles relating to interpersonal communication by keywords, author or other criteria.
Search Tip: An article doesn't have to restate your exact thesis to be useful, try to find bits of evidence in the literature that supports your thesis.
This link opens in a new windowA valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This link opens in a new window
Covering materials back to 1915, Communication Source offers resources pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric & discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
This link opens in a new windowFrom the American Psychological Association (APA), this is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
This link opens in a new windowAn expansive abstracting and indexing database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. Consists of journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
This link opens in a new windowProvides a focus on fundamental areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Includes studies pertaining to the social, political and economic relations between races and ethnicities.
To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.
Why is Peer Review Important?
Peer reviewed articles are articles that have been evaluated by the writer's colleagues (peers). The idea with peer review is that the reviewers uphold standards within the field in terms of research methodology, style, ethics, etc.
Most academic databases will allow you to find peer reviewed articles by simply checking a box as you refine your search.
Check out the following video for more information on the peer review process.
You can access library resources by searching Google Scholar!
If you are on-campus and using either the Internet Explorer or Firefox browser, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus or using the Google Chrome browser while on-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
Please keep in mind that not everything available through your library is cited on Google Scholar, so be sure to also use the library's online databases for your research needs. You can also ask your subject librarian for help!
You will need to enter your A&M-SA network username and password to get into the library's databases from off-campus. If you need assistance with this, please visit our Off-Campus Access page.