A&M-SA Research Guides: CHEM 4341/4342: Biochemistry Resource Guide: Websites & Videos

Resources

Below are suggested websites that cover chemical structure, safety & toxicology data, physical & chemical properties, bio-activity and molecular visualization & modeling.

American Chemical Society
ChemIDplus
ChemIDplus indexes more than 368,000 records for chemical substances cited in the National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. The records contain information on structure, names and synonyms, formulas, registry numbers, and some physical properties in addition to toxicity information and links to NLM-indexed articles with cite the substances.
PubChem
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage
The National Institute of Standards and Technology Physical Reference Data
Sigma-Aldrich Web Toolbox
The Sigma-Aldrich Web Toolbox features helpful online science research tools and resources for
Analytical Chemistry, Life Science, Chemical Synthesis and Materials Science. Tool examples include a structure search and an interactive periodic table.
ChemSpider
A chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 28 million structures
ChemTube3D
ChemTube3D contains interactive 3D animations and structures, with supporting information for some of the most important topics covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree.
NCBI Structure Molecular Modeling Database
International Chemical Safety Cards (ICSCs)
Internet Resources for Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
Sigma-Aldrich Product Safety Center
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Science.gov
Offers 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information
SureChem
SureChem specializes in organic chemistry recognition from patents. Search by drawing/pasting chemical structures or keywords. It also connects to the RSC's ChemSpider.

Khan Academy - Chemistry Videos
These videos cover various topics covered in college chemistry classes.
Khan Academy - Organic Chemistry
These videos cover various topics covered in college organic chemistry classes.
Science360 Twitter
Sponsored by the National Science Foundation, Science360 is an up-to-date view of breaking science from around the world. This contains videos on every branch of science, including chemistry.
Chemistry Videos (Master Academic Collection)
This collection contains over 200 full length videos and clips related to Chemistry.

From the NCBI website: "Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information..."

Entrez Nucleotide
A collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB.

Protein sequences
Compiled from a variety of sources, including SwissProt, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank and RefSeq.

Genome database
Provides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps.

Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB)
Contains over 40,000 3D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. It's linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors