A&M-SA Research Guides: Water Resources Science &amp; Technology Guide: Websites

Websites

These pages will have current and historic information about San Antonio's water conservation policies.

Edwards Aquifer Authority Records
The various forms required to comply with certain regulations or to conduct business with the Authority are available here for download or may be obtained at our main office. You can also find other helpful information here such as periodic reports on aquifer conditions and other activities of the Authority.
San Antonio River Authority Digital Collection
The San Antonio River Authority records consist of reports, project materials, correspondence, maps, surveys, minutes and photographs. Also included are newspaper clippings, publications including SARA newsletters, magazines, and brochures. Historical research materials in the collection include photographs and documetation of the flood of 1921 as well as photographs of activity of the San Antonio River during the early part of the twentieth century.
San Antonio Water System
San Antonio's cheapest source of water is conservation – water we don't use. That's why our proven conservation programs have become a cornerstone of the community's long-term water management strategy.
City Clerk's Digital Collection
This site will allow the user search digitized records from the City of San Antonio.

These pages will have current and historic information about statewide water conservation policies.

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
This site allows users to search reports and data about water and water conditions with the state.
Texas Water Development Board
The Texas Water Development Board's (TWDB) mission is To provide leadership, planning, financial assistance, information, and education for the conservation and responsible development of water for Texas.
Texas Water Resources Institute
The Texas Water Resources Institute thrives on collaborations with joint projects with more than 15 universities, more than 40 federal, state and local governmental organizations; and numerous others, including engineering firms, commodity groups and environmental organizations.
Texas WaterMatters
Texas WaterMatters is an advocacy group dedicated to brigning the public's awarenesss to the problems facing the state's water supply.

Bureau of Reclamation
Established in 1902, the Bureau of Reclamation is best known for the dams, powerplants, and canals it constructed in the 17 western states. These water projects led to homesteading and promoted the economic development of the West. Reclamation has constructed more than 600 dams and reservoirs including Hoover Dam on the Colorado River and Grand Coulee on the Columbia River.
Ground Water Atlas of the United States
USGS: Water Resources of the United States
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects information needed to understand the Nation's water resources, and provides access to water data, publications, and maps, as well as to recent water projects and events.
Water Quality Information Center
Water Quality Information Center (WQIC) provides electronic access to information on water quality and agriculture. The center collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water quality and agriculture.
Ground Water and Drinking Water, Environmental Protection Agency
This site contains great information on topics related to drinking and ground water. Topics include consumer info., drinking water standards, water contaminants, emergency preparedness as well as links to education and training materials.
Our Waters, Environmental Protection Agency
Provides links to additional pages with information on various types of waters. Examples include lakes, oceans, waste water and watersheds.
Estuaries and the National Estuary Program
This site includes general information about estuarine sciences, water properties, global changes and biological communities in regards to water.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is an agency of the United States government. It works to protect human health and the environment.

By law, construction firms must submit Environmental Impact Statements before beginning constructions. These Environmental Impact Statements contain information on how development will shape water usage, drainage, and water systems.

National Park Service's Texas Environmental Impact Statements
TxDOT Construction Reports
The Texas Department of Transportation has produced the following reports which list projects under construction sorted by legislative district. The reports list projects which are under construction by the Texas Department of Transportation.
U. S. Army Corps of Engineers Digital Library
The materials in this repository include information by and about the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Most materials were published by USACE, but some collections contain materials by other government agencies written about USACE.

American Rivers
American Rivers is the leading organization working to protect and restore the nation’s rivers and streams. Rivers connect us to each other, nature, and future generations. Since 1973, American Rivers has fought to preserve these connections, helping protect and restore more than 150,000 miles of rivers through advocacy efforts, on-the-ground projects, and the annual release of America’s Most Endangered Rivers.
Water Resources Collections and Archives (WRCA)
The mission of the Water Resources Collections and Archives (WRCA) is to collect, organize and make accessible information about water in all its manifestations.
Western Waters Digital Library
The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States. These collections have been made available by research libraries belonging to the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA) and other academic library partners. The WWDL is a valuable resource for researchers, policy makers, scholars, Native American tribes, professionals working in various fields, and others interested in contemporary and historic water issues.