Encyclopedia of Health Care Management by
"The most comprehensive one-volume reference work on health care management published in the last 10 years, this work brings together much useful information and will appeal to a broad audience. Health science libraries, college libraries, and large public libraries will want to invest in this title." --BOOKLIST "This volume should be considered by academic and public libraries with large healthcare management or business collections as the only current reference on this topic." --LIBRARY JOURNAL "The Encyclopedia of Health Care Management would be useful for those involved in any aspect of health care, whether as a student, instructor, practitioner, researcher, or administrator. This book would be of great use in reference collections at public, university, hospital, and corporate libraries." --E-STREAMS Health care is one of today′s most discussed and debated topics. From issues such as accessibility to costs to quality, the debates range widely among doctors, patients, employers, and insurers. A popular topic in political campaigns and the media, health care and health care management is also a quiet and unremitting concern in the private and personal lives of individuals who worry about someday having to choose between food and prescription drugs. For this reason, in today′s health care industry, good business practices may be as important as the practice of medicine in assuring the continued health of the industry. The Encyclopedia of Health Care Management will prove invaluable to libraries serving students and professionals in health and business. It will also be an essential reference for physicians, providers and their employees, and students and professors in health and management for responsible and successful practice and administration in the health care industry. This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive reference work on the business of health care, with up-to-date information across a broad range of issues affecting every aspect of the industry and the people it serves, employs, and influences. Key Features The most comprehensive reference work on health care management Broad range of timely topics, spanning academic, corporate and governmental arenas Over 600 entries More than 160 expert contributors in the fields of medicine, public health, and business Tables on Health Care Acronyms Medical Degrees Medical Legislation Medical Organizations Medical Specialties About the Editor Michael J. Stahl, Ph.D. is Director of the Physician Executive MBA Program and Distinguished Professor of Management in the College of Business at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Dr. Stahl received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the State University of NY at Buffalo and his Ph.D. in Management from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. From 1982-1989, Stahl was Head of the Management Department at Clemson University He was Associate Dean in the College of Business at the University of Tennessee from 1989-1997. Dr. Stahl has published over 50 journal articles in a variety of areas including Strategic Management, TQ, and healthcare, as well as twelve books including Strategic Management, Perspectives in TQ, and The Physician′s Essential MBA. He teaches strategy and business planning in the Physician EMBA, Taiwan EMBA, and MBA Programs. Recommended Libraries Academic, Public, Special, Private/Corporate
This link opens in a new windowProQuest Healthcare Administration Database is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including:
Hospitals
Insurance
Law
Statistics
Business management
Personnel management
Ethics
Health economics
Public health administration
This link opens in a new windowA rich collection of consumer health information from consumer health magazines, current health-related pamphlets, and health reference books.
This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, articles are available from nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Also includes health-related multimedia.
Up-to-date, quality health care information from the National Library of Medicine. Both health professionals and consumers can depend on it for current medical information, dictionaries, lists of hospitals and physicians, and clinical trials.
Managing the Myths of Health Care by 
Accessibility and active offer : health care and social services in linguistic minority communities by 
Health Care Information Systems by 
Animal-Assisted Interventions in Health Care Settings by 
Lean Thinking for Emerging Healthcare Leaders by