Image generated using Adobe Firefly's Model 3, art style, and prompt: "dark-haired girl working on a computer in a futuristic school learning setting."
APA Reference:
Adobe. (2024). Adobe Firefly (Model 3) [Large text-to-image model].
https://firefly.adobe.com/inspire/images
Existing curriculum materials designed to teach fundamental AI and digital literacy concepts and skills while emphasizing application and critical thinking
Look into these titles that are part of the A&M-SA Library's Collection!
Co-Intelligence by 
AI in Learning: Designing the Future by 
Creative applications of artificial intelligence in education by "Artificial intelligence (AI) refers to computer systems capable of performing complex tasks that historically only a human could do, such as reasoning, making decisions, or solving problems"
(Coursera Staff, 2023).
Note: Artificial Intelligence (AI) is also used as a name for the academic discipline that studies these types of systems.
This 2-hour, self-paced professional development course created by Google with MIT's RAISE program offers a certificate for completion. RAISE stands for Responsible AI for Social Empowerment and Education and aims to "to holistically and equitably prepare diverse K-12 students, an inclusive workforce, and lifelong learners to be successful, responsible, and engaged in an increasingly AI-powered society."
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
ISTE, the International Society for Technology Education, is recognized for its standards on incorporating technology into education. It offers free resources and paid professional development to enhance educators’ ability to use AI effectively. One notable resource, the free "Guides for Engaging Students in AI Creation" developed with GM and ASCD, includes project outlines and how-to resources, categorized by level and discipline.
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
The Texas Computer Education Association (TCEA) offers membership to all Texas educators, students, and faculty interested in instructional technologies. It provides numerous resources for members, such as weekly educational technology sessions, a blog with activity ideas, and discussion boards for idea exchange in member communities. TCEA offers a reasonably priced Artificial Intelligence Educator course that includes a digital badge and certification upon completion, as well as periodic free membership sign-ups.
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
The Common Sense Education organization has a history of promoting children's/family's online privacy and safety. The organization's AI Foundations for Educators course, which is free but requires a sign-in, includes 3 modules emphasizing "responsible and ethical AI use in schools." The organization also offers an AI Literacy curriculum, a robust digital citizenship program, and a new digital wellbeing curriculum for schools.
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
Magic School, a popular platform with various embedded AI functionalities, offers a suite of professional development resources including certification courses for optimizing educators' use of the Magic School platform, a YouTube Channel, and adaptable content to facilitate workshops for teachers, communicate with parents, and more. Note: Some resources listed on the site do not seem fully built yet, such as under the Use Cases menu.
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
AI for Education is a company that provides a mix of free content and paid services to K-12 and higher education. In addition to recorded webinars, they offer a large prompt library to use AI for specific tasks and downloadable resources including an AI adoption roadmap and guidelines for developing AI use policies. The company also provides paid services to schools including keynotes, AI literacy professional development, policy development consultations, and more.
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
Code.org's AI 101 for Teachers presents non-intimidating information for teachers wanting to learn more about AI and ways to integrate it into their teaching practice. Code.org is widely recognized for its broad collection of coding curricula that is accessible for learners at various levels, ranging from kindergarten to adult. Their AI for Teachers collection includes a series of videos with companion guides providing opportunities for continued exploration and application of skills.
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
Minecraft Education touts the ability of students and teachers to learn AI skills in the context of the Minecraft environment. Some resources are provided for free such as short videos and lesson guides. Lessons embedded in the Minecraft game environment seem to require payment, ranging from $5 to $12 per person annually for the educational packages. Schools can register for bulk licenses to receive the lowest per-user cost.
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
While the synchronous Day of AI 2024 event based in Australia, has already passed, educators can sign up to access teacher resources and information that could be used in your own classroom or may spark ideas for what you can try with your students. Under Additional Resources, the site provides links to other AI for Education sites provided by Google, Microsoft, and more.
Use the left/right arrows or dots to scroll through the content in this section.
Elim (2024) explored students' use of cognitive and reflective skills while using ChatGPT in a classroom setting.
Elim, E. H. S. Y. (2024). Promoting cognitive skills in AI-supported learning environments: the integration of bloom’s taxonomy. Education 3(13), 1–11. https://doi.org/10.1080/03004279.2024.2332469. Available under CC BY-NC License
The Chronicle of Higher Education, Technology Blog
Inside Higher Education, AI Section
Education Week, Technology
EdSurge News
Please credit Kimberly S. Grotewold
Artificial Intelligence (AI) for Teachers: An Overview © 2024 by Kimberly S. Grotewold is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0 
Grotewold, K. S. (2024). Artificial intelligence (AI) for Teachers: An overview. https://libguides.tamusa.edu/AI-Teachers
