A&M-SA Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Library Research Guide: Intellectual Property

U.S. Patents, Trademarks, & Copyrights

Protect your company's logo and information. Use the following links to learn the process of patents, trademarks, and copyrights.

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)
Find out if your invention is patentable or search for U.S. patents. Also offers a step-by-step tutorial on how to conduct a preliminary patent search.

Legal Forms (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this tool to view and prepare legal documents for bankruptcy, bills of sale, contracts, divorce, leases, taxes, name change, power of attorney and much more. This database also provides a collection of real answers to legal questions in a Legal Q&A.

U.S. Trademark Search
This page is the starting point for the USPTO's trademark information. Click on "Search" under "Get a Trademark Registration..." or visit the USPTO's Trademark Electronic Business Center (EBC). The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office TESS database contains more than 2.9 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks.
U.S. Copyright Office
The U.S. Copyright Office continues to provide registration, recordation, and information services, but there is currently no public access to our buildings.

Patent Research FAQs

How do I research a patent?

You can also use the library's database Business Source Complete Company Search (EBSCO) which provides a list of intellectual property (patents, trademarks, etc.) held by a particular company. You can also search for patents using the free patent search resources:

pat2pdf.org

Patent Fetcher

Espacenet (worldwide patents)

Google patents

Intellectual Property Research

How do I research a company's intellectual property?

The library's database Business Source Complete Company Search (EBSCO) provides a list of intellectual property (patents, trademarks, etc.) held by a company in its company profiles. Keep in mind that this company only provides profiles on public companies, not private companies.

Trademark Research FAQs

How do I research a trademark?

The library's database Business Source Complete Company Search (EBSCO) provides a list of intellectual property (patents, trademarks, etc.) held by a particular company. You can also search for trademarks using the free trademark search resource: Search Trademarks (TESS) from the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO). This is the government's database of U.S. trademarks and it is searchable by key word and symbol description. To find out more, access the USPTO Trademark FAQs page.