A&M-SA Research Guides: Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA): Find Multimedia (Videos)

Films

Streaming Video About Autism

Note: The following titles are available through A&M-SA Library's various streaming video platforms

Film Projector Movie image by Gerd Altman is licensed under Pixabay license terms

Autism in America
"This film is a genuine and straightforward look into the autism spectrum disorder as told by the families and individuals living with autism daily...
more...less...
Autistic behaviors such as difficulty communicating, outbursts, etc. are examined in the film, as are the financial and emotional effects on parents. The film looks at young years, discipline, transition into high school and college, employment possibilities, and marriage for people with autism."
The United States of Autism
"The United States of Autism weaves the tale of a broad spectrum of American life in all its faiths, disparities, colors, and cultures - and the story of one man's 40-day, 11,000 mile journey across America to find answers for his family and son."
Autism: Insight from Inside
"Temple Grandin, Jonathan Chase, and Stephen Shore explore how Autism affects their lives, the benefits and drawbacks to being diagnosed, and how society can help those afflicted lead more fulfilling and productive lives."
Louis Theroux: Extreme Love for Autism
"Louis Theroux visits one of the best schools in America for autism. He meets the students and their families to get a glimpse of what life is like for them and to experience the pleasures and the strains of one of the most extraordinary kinds of relationship."
Love, Hope, and Autism
"This program takes viewers behind the startling statistics on the rise of autism in North America, and deep into the heart and history of a family raising a son with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)...
more...less...
This film exposes the powerful effects of ASD on a family, from the strain on the marriage to the inevitable shift in family dynamics."
A Mother's Courage: Talking Back to Autism
"Narrated by Oscar winner Kate Winslet and directed by Oscar nominee Fridrik Thor Fridriksson, this inspiring film follows one woman's quest to unlock her autistic son's mind."
TEDTalks: Ami Klin--A New Way to Diagnose Autism
"At TEDxPeachtree, award-winning autism spectrum disorder researcher Ami Klin describes an early detection method that uses eye-tracking technologies to gauge babies' social engagement skills and reliably measure their risk of developing autism."
Ocho Pasos Adelante: Early Diagnosis and Intervention for Children with Autism
"Ochos Pasos Adelante, or Eight Steps Forward, is a documentary about the impact that early detection and intervention makes on children with different levels of autism spectrum disorder (ADS)...
more...less...
The film explores the work of PANAACEA—an Argentinian interdisciplinary team devoted to child and adolescent neurodevelopment. "

Video Databases

Direct Links to Specific Video Series and Searchable Video Databases

Special Education Videos (Education in Video)
From Education in Video
Assessment videos (Education in Video)

Education in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Counseling and Therapy in Video - Volumes I-V (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The video collection allows students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
Kanopy (Kanopy Streaming) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An on-demand streaming video platform with a collection of documentaries, classics, and indie films.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Video Collection (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains streaming full-length videos and clips in a wide variety of subject areas from producers including TED, PBS, National Geographic, A&E, BBC, and more.
Swank Digital Campus (Swank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind. With over 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows, Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.