This link opens in a new windowEbook Central contains a wide collection of e-books across many subjects with materials from authoritative publishers, including some of the world’s most prestigious academic and research institutions.
Includes access to the collection e-Libro Premium, which includes over 70,000 Spanish language e-books from more than 500 commercial, academic, and university press publishers (95% from Latin American and Spain) covering liberal arts, social sciences, and sciences, as well as more general reference works.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Users can access more than 25,000 full-text reference, scholarly and professional e-books as well as public domain titles.
This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.
This link opens in a new windowGet access to e-books in subjects spanning from science, technology and medicine, humanities, and social sciences.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 140,000 e-books covering subjects such as art, business and economics, education, literary criticism, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology and engineering, etc.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 32,000 e-books from over 90 university presses covering a variety of subjects such as technology, science, literature, humanities, etc.
This link opens in a new windowDiscover academic, peer reviewed open access books. Books are freely accessible and free to read, but users should check the license for a specific title before reusing the contents of a book.
Implementing Strategies to Enhance Public Health Surveillance of Physical Activity in the United States by
Physical activity has far-reaching benefits for physical, mental, emotional, and social health and well-being for all segments of the population. Despite these documented health benefits and previous efforts to promote physical activity in the U.S. population, most Americans do not meet current public health guidelines for physical activity. Surveillance in public health is the ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data, which can then be used for planning, implementation and evaluation of public health practice. Surveillance of physical activity is a core public health function that is necessary for monitoring population engagement in physical activity, including participation in physical activity initiatives. Surveillance activities are guided by standard protocols and are used to establish baseline data and to track implementation and evaluation of interventions, programs, and policies that aim to increase physical activity. However, physical activity is challenging to assess because it is a complex and multidimensional behavior that varies by type, intensity, setting, motives, and environmental and social influences. The lack of surveillance systems to assess both physical activity behaviors (including walking) and physical activity environments (such as the walkability of communities) is a critical gap. Implementing Strategies to Enhance Public Health Surveillance of Physical Activity in the United States develops strategies that support the implementation of recommended actions to improve national physical activity surveillance. This report also examines and builds upon existing recommended actions.
Health in Hard Times by
Available Open Access under CC-BY-NC licence. How has austerity impacted on health and wellbeing in the UK? Health in Hard Times explores its repercussions for social inequalities in health. The result of five years of research, the book draws on a case study of Stockton-on-Tees in the north-east of England, home to some of the starkest health divides. By placing individual and local experiences in the context of national budget cuts and welfare reforms, it provides a holistic perspective on countrywide inequalities. Edited by a leading expert, this is an important book for anyone seeking to understand one of today's most significant determinants of health.
Nutrition Across the Lifespan for Healthy Aging by
In September 2016, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine convened a workshop to examine trends and patterns in aging and factors related to healthy aging in the United States, with a focus on nutrition, and how nutrition can sustain and promote healthy aging, not just in late adulthood, but beginning in pregnancy and early childhood and extending throughout the lifespan. Participants discussed the role of nutrition in the aging process at various stages in life, changes in organ systems over the lifespan and changes that occur with age related to cognitive, brain, and mental health, and explored opportunities to move forward in promoting healthy aging in the United States. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
Community Violence As a Population Health Issue by
On June 16, 2016, the Roundtable on Population Health Improvement held a workshop at the Lutheran Church of the Good Shepherd in Brooklyn, New York, to explore the influence of trauma and violence on communities. The workshop highlighted examples of community-based organizations using trauma-informed approaches to treat violence and build safe and healthy communities. Presentations showcased examples that can serve as models in different sectors and communities and shared lessons learned. This publication summarizes the presentation and discussion of the event.
Narrative Ethics in Public Health: The Value of Stories by
This Open Access book illustrates the power of stories to illuminate ethical concerns that arise in public health. It complements epidemiological or surveillance evidence, and reveals stakeholder perspectives crucial for public health practitioners to develop effective and ethical public health interventions. Because it relies on the natural and universal appeal of stories, the book also serves to introduce the field of public health to students considering a career in public health. The opening section of the book also serves as a more didactic introduction to public health ethics and the field of narrative ethics. It describes the field of public health ethics including ethical principles relevant to public health practice and research, and the advantages of a narrative ethics approach. That approach explores the problems and the ethical challenges of public health from the inside, from the perspective of those experiencing health problems to the challenges of those who must address these problems. The later sections consist of 14 chapters that present the actual stories of these public health problems and challenges. In narrative style they range from first person narratives of both practitioners and citizens, to analysis of published short stories. The problems and challenges they address include issues relating to justice concerns, surveillance and stigma, community values and the value of community, trust and the value of information, and freedom and responsibility. Specific public health topics include resource allocation, restricting liberty to protect the community from health threats, and the health impact of trauma, addiction, obesity and health disparities.
The Social Determinants of Health and Health Disparities by
A growing body of knowledge has revealed the profound impact of the social determinants of health--the social, political, and economic factors apart from health care that influence health. The question is no longer if social factors are important influences on health, but rather how social factors operate and how to address them most effectively, efficiently, and equitably. Social Determinants of Health and Health Disparities is a comprehensive resource for students and educators to understand the wide-ranging effects of social and political factors, including racism, on individual health. Drawing on Paula Braveman's seminal work in health equity, this volume explains how upstream drivers like law and policy are at the beginning of causal chains influencing health, and in particular how systemic issues like racism are core drivers of health outcomes. Each chapter examines how different social determinants of health--such as income, education, stress, work, and racism--are impacted by upstream social factors and how those factors influence health and health disparities through complex pathways. Chapters also include approaches for future practitioners and policymakers to most effectively activate health-promoting pathways while interrupting health-damaging ones. Complete with chapter summaries and discussion questions, Social Determinants of Health and Health Disparities is the definitive classroom guide to understanding and addressing social disparities in health, particularly racial and socioeconomic disparities.
Doing Dignity by
Explores human dignity and care in the face of disease and disability. Complex contemporary experiences with disease, death, and disability in the United States have made the concept of human dignity seem outdated. In Doing Dignity: Ethical Praxis and the Politics of Care, Christa Teston challenges conventional notions of dignity and, based on analyses of clinical observations, interviews, and focus groups, encourages a new understanding of care. This thought-provoking book presents a practice-based approach to human dignity through three compelling case studies: US health care professionals' COVID-19 caretaking experiences, legislative debates about medical aid in dying, and clinical interactions between wheelchair users and health care professionals. Teston demonstrates how dignity is not an abstract idea but rather is a set of practices embedded in the politics and complexities of care. Drawing from feminist care ethics, rhetorical theory, disability studies, and critical Black studies, Doing Dignity offers a fresh perspective on the moral underpinnings of modern-day medicine. Teston explores how health care professionals enact dignity despite the challenges of market-based medicine, the commodification of care, and shifting societal discourse on disease, dying, and disability. This book transcends philosophical debates and provides practical insights for both patients and practitioners. Without falling into sentimentality or hopelessness, Doing Dignity honors human vulnerability while revealing how situational factors influence the practice of dignified care.
Human Viruses: Diseases, Treatments and Vaccines by
This book discusses current evidence on human viruses and provides an extensive coverage of newly emerged viruses and current strategies for treatment. Offering a new perspective in view of the re-emergence of Ebola in African countries and Dengue in India and Pakistan, the contents include chapters on emergence, pathogenicity, epidemiology and vaccine uptake. Human Viruses: Diseases, Treatments and Vaccines: The New Insights discusses a range of viruses from the most common such as Influenza and Hepatitis to Zika, Poliomyelitis and Chikungunya among many others. It is authored by a team of experts on viral disease and will be of immense use to virologists, public health experts and clinicians.
The Invisible Kingdom by
Drawing on her own medical experience as well as fifteen years of interviews with doctors, patients, researchers, and public health experts, O'Rourke's incisive new work speaks to an urgent subject: the epidemic scale of autoimmune disease in America (even greater with the advent of 'Long Covid') and where we go from here. O'Rourke reveals crucial, subtle complexities about the American struggle with chronic illness and autoimmune conditions, and offers new reasons for hope, as well as a new framework for thinking about infectious disease and autoimmune response going forward.
Foundations of Physical Activity and Public Health by
The first textbook to clearly define the intersection of kinesiology and public health, Foundations of Physical Activity and Public Health, Second Edition With Web Resource, has been newly updated to reflect the 2018 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans issued by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The new edition has been updated with additional contemporary research findings and international examples. With a solid introduction to the concepts of public health and kinesiology, techniques used to measure physical activity, and health effects of exercise and physical activity, the text will show readers how to advance the use of physical activity as a significant component in public health initiatives. Joining field leaders Harold (Bill) Kohl and Tinker Murray on this second edition is Deborah Salvo, an international expert with a special interest in the relationship between the built environment and health. Other updates to this edition include the following: New content on the use of electronic devices--such as pedometers and consumer-based wearable technology and apps--for measuring physical activity Urban design strategies for promoting physical activity at the community level An engaging, full-color visual presentation A new web resource that includes key term learning activities and links to the National Physical Activity Society (NPAS) core competencies for public health physical activity practitioners that relate to each chapter Foundations of Physical Activity and Public Health, Second Edition, describes the impact of sedentary behavior and physical activity on health, including cardiorespiratory and metabolic diseases, weight status, musculoskeletal disorders, cancers, and brain health. Evidence-based strategies are examined using three general approaches--informational, behavioral and social, and environmental and policy--with examples of successful programs to help readers understand applications in public health. A chapter on data collection and analysis teaches how to measure and evaluate program and policy effectiveness, while discussion of real-world initiatives such as the U.S. National Physical Activity Plan and the Toronto Charter for Physical Activity illustrates developing effective partnerships and models for advocacy. To further tie theory to practice, case studies and callout boxes throughout the text provide practical examples, and each chapter ends with a review to solidify student understanding of the material. Leader Profile sidebars allow students to explore career options while learning more about individuals who have had a major impact on this growing field. As the emphasis on physical activity as a tool for improving public health grows, professionals with combined knowledge and skills from both public health and exercise science fields will be highly sought. Foundations of Physical Activity and Public Health, Second Edition, will help students obtain an overview of kinesiology and public health areas, understand physical activity applications for public health, and learn about career options, and it will inspire them to choose a career and make a difference in the emerging field of physical activity and public health.