If you're looking for something more historical, from the 18th century to the 20th century, search one of the collections below. Please make note of the publication date ranges under each database or collection.
Search Tip
When searching for historical newspaper articles, make sure you are searching with words that were apart of the common language at the time i.e.The Great War instead of World War One. Also, try variations on spelling.
Access the San Antonio Express-News from 1867-2015. For 1990-present, see Access World News (NewsBank).
Access the Dallas Morning News from 1885-1984.
Access the Fort Worth Star Telegram from 1902-2015.
Access the Houston Chronicle from 1901-2015.
Access the Houston Post from 1880-1995.
Access the San Antonio Light from 1882-1993.
Select "Newspapers" above the search field to limit your search to only Newspapers. Coverage dates will vary by publication.
For help on viewing newspapers, see this page: http://texashistory.unt.edu/help/guide/newspapers/
A digital newspaper archive that includes cover-to-cover full-text and full-image articles starting from the 19th century. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, advertisements, etc.
Includes: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Austin American Statesman, The Baltimore Afro-American, Baltimore Sun, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Defender, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Inquirer, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, The Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of American newspapers, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, and obituaries. This collection chronicles the evolution of culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
Years covered include 1690 to 1922.
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
A searchable collection of full-text Hispanic American newspapers published in the U.S.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life – as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. HLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science and technology, and society and culture from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era.
This resource incorporates 3 resources:
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.
This site allows users access to scanned newspaper pages from 1880-1910 for newspapers published in the United States. Users also have the ability to find information about published American newspapers from 1690 to the present.
The Google News search box searches back to 1970. It is available at: http://news.google.com/news/advanced_news_search
Click on the down arrow in the search box to see advanced search features.
A complete list of newspapers available at Google News Archive is at: http://news.google.com/newspapers That list is arranged by title of the newspaper and provides access to a browsable list of all issues available.
