Below is a list of our currently subscribed databases. To get to our full A-Z database list, click on the View More Results link.
If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login to access the databases.
The login information for faculty and staff is:
Username = Network ID
Password = Network Password
If you are off campus, you will need to sign in when prompted.
The login information for faculty and staff is:
Username = Network ID
Password = Network Password
Faculty may check out library materials with their faculty ID. Borrowing policies for faculty members are:
| Books | Videos/ DVDs/ CDs | Textbooks/ Curriculum Materials | Permanent Reserves/ Reference |
| End of Semester/ 1 Renewal Maximum 20 | 7 Days/ 1 Renewal Maximum 5 | 14 Days/ 1 Renewal Maximum 5 | Library Use Only |
Borrowing periods for eBooks vary by publisher. For a comparison chart of our different eBook platforms, please click here.
Borrowing books and requesting journal articles from other libraries through interlibrary loan is a service provided by A&M-SA’s University Library.
Login to ILLiad to place your requests.
| ILLiad LOGIN INFORMATION | USERNAME | PASSWORD |
| Faculty/Staff | Network ID | Network Password |
All students, faculty, and staff may log in to ILLiad to request items through interlibrary loan or to check the status of submitted interlibrary loan requests.
It is very important to return borrowed materials on time to the A&M-SA University Library so as not to jeopardize interlibrary loan privileges for other A&M-SA patrons. If borrowed materials are not returned on time, patrons will be blocked from using the University Library's materials and will be billed for overdue or lost items by the lending library.
“TexShare is a cooperative program designed to improve service to Texans. Members include public libraries that belong to the regional library systems, academic libraries, and libraries of clinical medicine. TexShare enables libraries to offer a broader range of materials and services than any single library can provide for its constituents.”
-Texas State Library and Archives Commission
TexShare cards are available in the library during normal hours of operation. Stop by with your current A&M-SA ID and pick up a TexShare card at your convenience. For students, the cards will be valid through the last day of classes each semester, therefore students will need to get a new card each semester. For faculty and staff the cards will be valid through the academic year which starts the first day of the fall semester and runs through the last day of classes during the summer session.
The TexShare card allows students, faculty, and staff to check out library books (and some other materials) from area libraries. To locate books available at area libraries search the library's catalog.
It is very important to return materials borrowed with your TexShare card on time to the library you borrowed them from so as not to jeopardize borrowing privileges for other A&M-SA patrons. If borrowed materials are not returned on time, patrons will be blocked from using the University Library's materials and will be billed for overdue or lost items by the lending library.
With the proxy borrowing service, certain library patrons (proxy borrower) are able to perform actions on behalf of another patron (primary borrower). The A&M-SA University Library will extend this service to currently employed faculty members who wish to name students as proxy borrowers for themselves and to currently employed staff members who wish to name other staff (ex. administrative assistants) as proxy borrowers for themselves. Proxy borrowers are able to check out, renew and place hold requests on items on behalf of a primary borrower using the rights/privileges of the primary borrower (ex. circulation time periods). A proxy borrower will not use the primary borrower’s A&M-SA ID to check out library materials, but will need to present his/her own A&M-SA ID upon checkout. Primary borrowers will be responsible for the timely return/damage/loss of items checked out by the proxy borrower, including any financial obligations from the use of the proxy account. Primary borrowers can have one or more proxy borrowers. Faculty and staff interested in setting up a proxy borrower should send an email to library@tamusa.edu authorizing the library to set up the proxy account. The authorization email should include the full name of the proxy borrower and the person’s status (undergraduate, graduate, staff) if known. Expiration dates on the proxy account will be assigned as follows:
You can access library resources by searching Google Scholar!
If you are on-campus and using either the Internet Explorer or Firefox browser, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus or using the Google Chrome browser while on-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
Please keep in mind that not everything available through your library is cited on Google Scholar, so be sure to also use the library's online databases for your research needs. You can also ask your subject librarian for help!
You will need to enter your A&M-SA network username and password to get into the library's databases from off-campus. If you need assistance with this, please visit our Off-Campus Access page.
Do you want to see a particular book, journal, DVD, or other item added to the library? Is there a specific topic you would like the library to get more resources for? Faculty can make requests for additions to the University Library! Send an email to your subject librarian and indicate what titles or types of materials you would like to see purchased.
GobiAlerts are a quick and easy way to get up-to-date new book titles in your field of study. These monthly alerts come to your university email address and allow you to make library purchase recommendations directly in YBP (the library's primary book ordering system). To start receiving these alerts, please fill out the form linked below. Your subject librarian will set up the alerts for you and you will begin receiving these within the next month.
| Database Name | Information About the Database | Comments | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
|
A collection of cover-to-cover full page articles and images with topics covering the leading issues and events of the time. |
Comments |
Trial: Complete |
|
|
This database is a collection of global business cases from a variety of industries. Topics include Marketing, Operations Management, Small Business and Entrepreneurship, International Business, Human Resource Management and more. Trial ends on May 5. |
Comments | Trial: Complete | |
|
Data Planet (SAGE) |
This database provides access to datasets across a variety of subjects that you can transform into charts, graphs, maps, and more. Datasets can be downloaded in standard formats for most research and presentation needs. | Comments | Trial: Complete |
| Mintel Trends | This is an add-on subscription to our Mintel package that focuses on trends (national and worldwide) that may be useful to businesses. You can find Mintel Trends as a tab in the Mintel database. | Comments | Trial: Complete |
| Government, Politics and Law for Academics (HeinOnline) |
Includes Government, Politics and Law for Academics, FastCase, and American Indian Law Collection. |
Comments | Trial: 8/23/18-8/31/19 |
|
Basic Biology Science Education (JoVE) Advanced Biology Science Education (JoVE) |
A video-based approach to science education. |
Comments |
Trial Complete.
|
| HL Exercise Science and ACSM Suite (Wolters Kluwer) | Part of Wolters Kluwer's Health Library focused on Exercise Science and ACSM certification preparation. | Comments | Trial Complete |
We are currently in the process of finalizing our FY19 journal purchases and will update this page with FY20 information soon.
Please use this form to request journals.
This link opens in a new window
Great source for higher education news and jobs. Features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; current job listings; an archive of previously published content; discussion forums; and career-building tools.