In order to make library resources accessible off campus, you will need to configure links to articles, journals, films and other resources with the library's proxy address.  There are two steps: finding the persistent URL and determining if it already has the proxy embedded in the link or if you will need to add it.  

1. Find a persistent URL. On the article or journal page, look for words such as "Persistent URL", "Stable URL", "InfoMark", "Document URL", or "Permalink." 
2. Is the link already proxied? If the persistent URL contains the proxy address below, students accessing it from off campus will automatically be directed to log in using their Network ID and Password.  You can use the link "as is" and paste it directly into your course web page.  If you don't see a proxy address, post the proxy address at the beginning of your persistent URL. 

Try our proxy URL generator.  Just put in your original URL and it will create a proxy link for you! Make sure to include http:// or https:// before the original url box. For example, library.artstor.org/library/ should be typed as http://library.artstor.org/library/ to get the proxy link https://tamusa.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://library.artstor.org/library .

F.A.Q.s

Why link?

• Easy access for students to exactly what faculty want them to use
• No copyright concerns - the link is to something for which we've already paid
• Linking provides usage stats - so that we do not cancel highly used materials

Why can't I just copy the address from the address bar to save a link to an article?

• Web addresses, or URLs, that appear in the address bar of your web browser may contain session-based or search-based information that causes the URL not to work later. This is especially true of the URLs that appear when searching a database. This is why many online databases provide a separate persistent or stable link in each record for an article.

What is a Proxy Server?

• License agreements governing usage of the online resources (including e-journals, ebooks and databases) require that we ensure off-campus access is restricted to our faculty, staff, and currently enrolled A&M-SA students.  The University Library maintains a proxy server for this purpose.  When creating links to licensed material, the proxy prefix (https://tamusa.idm.oclc.org/login?url=) must be placed in the URL to ensure that off-campus users are able to access.  

What is a persistent URL?

• A persistent URL is a link that will remain stable over time and allows a user to access the linked document later.

How do I find persistent links in online databases?

• Some research databases include a persistent or stable link in the article record. Please note that the terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another.

How do I know if a persistent URL will work when accessed from a computer outside the A&M-SA campus network?

• In order for a link to an article to work on an off-campus computer, it must be "proxied."  A proxied link contains special coding that will allow A&M-SA users to access the article, journal, etc. using their NetID and password.  A proxied link always contains the term ezproxy.

How can I use a proxied persistent link?

• Once you have found or built a proxied persistent URL you can paste the URL into a Blackboard page or other documents.