This Virology guide is intended to be a starting point for students who need to perform search and write a research paper. We have tutorials, videos, and information on how to obtain books/e-books, peer-reviewed articles, web resources and information on writing and plagiarism.
The following databases provide access to thousands of scholarly journals and peer-reviewed articles:
For a list of all Biology databases, please follow this link.
BioMed Central is a publisher of 220 open access, peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine. Subject coverage ranges from anesthesiology to blood disorders, infectious diseases, plant biology, and sports medicine.
Upgraded from JSTOR Biological Sciences (JSTOR). Spanning more than 340 years of science history and research, this collection covers aquatic science, biological sciences, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, zoology, and more, as well as broad coverage of health sciences.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Access journals published by Nature Publishing Group (NPG), such as Nature, Scientific American, and more. Content covers life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.
Below is a link to all journals related to virology available at the A&M-SA Library, as well as, some suggested journals.
Find A Specific Journal: If you are looking for a certain journal or finding an article from a citation, click the link and then click the Articles tab.
You can access library resources by searching Google Scholar!
If you are on-campus and using either the Internet Explorer or Firefox browser, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus or using the Google Chrome browser while on-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
Please keep in mind that not everything available through your library is cited on Google Scholar, so be sure to also use the library's online databases for your research needs. You can also ask your subject librarian for help!
You will need to enter your A&M-SA network username and password to get into the library's databases from off-campus. If you need assistance with this, please visit our Off-Campus Access page.
Principles of Virology, Multi-Volume
by
Principles of Virology, the leading virology textbook in use, is an extremely valuable and highly informative presentation of virology at the interface of modern cell biology and immunology. This text utilizes a uniquely rational approach by highlighting common principles and processes across all viruses. Using a set of representative viruses to illustrate the breadth of viral complexity, students are able to understand viral reproduction and pathogenesis and are equipped with the necessary tools for future encounters with new or understudied viruses. This fifth edition was updated to keep pace with the ever-changing field of virology. In addition to the beloved full-color illustrations, video interviews with leading scientists, movies, and links to exciting blogposts on relevant topics, this edition includes study questions and active learning puzzles in each chapter, as well as short descriptions regarding the key messages of references of special interest. Volume I: Molecular Biology focuses on the molecular processes of viral reproduction, from entry through release. Volume II: Pathogenesis and Control addresses the interplay between viruses and their host organisms, on both the micro- and macroscale, including chapters on public health, the immune response, vaccines and other antiviral strategies, viral evolution, and a brand new chapter on the therapeutic uses of viruses. These two volumes can be used for separate courses or together in a single course. Each includes a unique appendix, glossary, and links to internet resources. Principles of Virology, Fifth Edition, is ideal for teaching the strategies by which all viruses reproduce, spread within a host, and are maintained within populations. This edition carefully reflects the results of extensive vetting and feedback received from course instructors and students, making this renowned textbook even more appropriate for undergraduate and graduate courses in virology, microbiology, and infectious diseases.
For other ways to connect with us visit our Contact Us page.
Please visit our calendar for a day by day breakdown of the library's hours of operation.
Looking for a quiet place to study or a space to collaborate with group members? The library has lots of study rooms to fit your needs. Visit this calendar to select the date/time you wish to reserve your room.
