The following databases below will provide access to thousands of scholarly journal articles, conference papers and other similar research documents by keywords, author or other criteria.
Search Tip: An article doesn't have to restate your exact thesis to be useful, try to find bits of evidence in the literature that supports your thesis.
Consists of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Contains full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home & garden, and sports & leisure, as well as biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans.
A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Includes full-text resources relating to all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Below are a few examples of scholarly journals that the University Library subscribes to in the area of Childhood Studies.
To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.
Peer-reviewed articles are articles that have been evaluated by the writer's professional colleagues or peers. The idea is that the reviewers will judge the writer on scholarly standards within the field by examining the research methodology, style, ethics, etc.
Most academic databases will allow you to find peer-reviewed articles by simply checking a box as you refine your search.
Need a reminder on the peer-review process? Check out this video.
Historians base their research on two types of sources--Primary and Secondary.
What is a Primary Source?
A primary source consists of firsthand account, data or artfifact of an event.
Examples:
Testimony from a confirmation hearing of United States Supreme Court Justice
Oral History interview of a coal miner
Maps
Diary of a soldier from World War I
Newspapers
Post cards
Business invoices
What is a Secondary Source?
A secondary source consists of an interpretation of an event that the creator/author was not present.
Examples:
Journal article from the Great Plains Quarterly
Textbook American Journeys
Presentation made by an Historian
Tour given by a museum
Book Review
The Documentary Four Little Girls
