A&M-SA Research Guides: Art Appreciation Research Guide: Reference Sources

Companions, Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

These reference works are designed to give comprehensive introductions to their subjects. They are excellent when you are beginning a research project and need an intellectual map of how to proceed.

Reasons to do Background Research

To find out the basics -To narrow the topic --Is information available? --To identify significant people--To identify search terms --To learn the theory--To plan your research---To formulate questions

Search the Library Catalog to find more!

You can find reference books on many subject by searching the catalog and using Use the Advanced Search page, change search type to Subject, type in a keyword related to your topic, EX: Frida Kahlo and add keyword(s) that will limit your search to reference sources, such as encyclopedias, bibliography, dictionaries, companions, handbooks, etc.

Reference Databases

Biography Reference Source (EBSCO)
Offers over 430,000 full-text biographies from sources such as Biography Today, Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, American Reference Library, Encyclopædia Britannica, and more.
Credo Reference (Credo)
Search 650+ titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, & reference handbooks covering the arts, business, health, history, literature, math, religion, etc. Over 1,000 videos, 300,000 art images, and thousands of images for other subjects.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (Oxford University Press)
The OED includes present-day meanings and pronunciation for 600,000+ English language words, in addition to the history of words and of the language, and information, quotations, and excerpts from classical literature, films scripts, and more.

NOTE: OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY (OED) (OXFORD UNIVERSITY PRESS) IS MOVING TO A NEW PLATFORM ON JULY 18, 2023. A NEW INTERFACE WITH NEW FEATURES AND ACCESSIBILITY WILL BE IMPLEMENTED.