A&M-SA Research Guides: Reading & Literacy Research Guide: Find Multimedia &amp; Professional Organizations

Multimedia (Streaming Video) for Reading/Literacy

Multimedia Databases (Mostly Streaming Video) for Education

Academic Video Online: Premium (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, commercials, training, lectures, etc. from varied sources (PBS, CBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc.) covering education, counseling and therapy, humanities, politics & current affairs, and more.
Ambrose Video Publishing (Ambrose Video Publishing) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to video collections: 16th-20th Century Turning Points in America, BBC Shakespeare Plays, Great American Authors, A History of Hispanic Achievement in America, A History of Women’s Achievement in America, and When the Water Tap Runs Dry.
Education in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Video Collection (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains streaming full-length videos and clips in a wide variety of subject areas from producers including TED, PBS, National Geographic, A&E, BBC, and more.
Kanopy (Kanopy Streaming) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An on-demand streaming video platform with a collection of documentaries, classics, and indie films.
Swank Digital Campus (Swank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind. With over 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows, Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.

Reading/Literacy Professional Organizations

Professional and Not-for-profit Organizations Devoted to Fostering Reading/Literacy

International Literacy Association (ILA)
The ILA is committed to the core idea that "The ability to READ, WRITE, and COMMUNICATE connects people and empowers them to achieve things they never thought possible" and supports efforts of all learners globally to develop these skills.
National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
The NCTE was formed to support all aspects of teaching English and language arts. Shares research, and provides access to books, journals, lesson plans, face-to-face conferences, web seminars, and more for teachers of elementary grades through college.
Reading is Fundamental (RIF)
"Reading Is Fundamental is committed to a literate America by inspiring a passion for reading among all children, providing quality content to make an impact and engaging communities in the solution to give every child the fundamentals for success." Links to Literacy Central & Literacy Network provide access to downloadable print materials and e-resources (including some free e-books).
Reading Recovery Council of North America (RRCNA)
RRCNA's vision: "We ensure the competencies necessary for a literate and productive future for children learning to read and write." This organization provides professional development in the form of webcasts, online toolkits, a video library, a listening library, and conferences.
National Center for Families Learning (NCFL)
According to its website: "NCFL works to eradicate poverty through education solutions for families. Partnering with educators, literacy advocates, and policymakers, NCFL develops and provides programming, professional development, and resources that empower and raise families to achieve their potential."
Children's Reading Foundation (CRF)
Focused on early literacy and kindergarten readiness, the CRF is an organization active in the U.S. and Canada. Their past research studies appear to target Washington state, but it looks like they are seeking to start local foundations elsewhere.
Children's Book Council (CBC): Every Child a Reader
"EVERY CHILD A READER supports all those who inspire children and teens to enjoy reading— thousands of parents, educators, librarians and booksellers across America — year-round as well as through our popular and long-running national programs"
Association of Literacy Educators and Researchers (ALER)
From its website: "ALER seeks to stimulate the self-development and professional growth of professors, teachers, reading specialists and students at all educational levels. We encourage the continuing improvement of college and university curricula and assist preparation programs for teachers and reading specialists. Our members work at the forefront of policy, pedagogy and practice. Further, we encourage the continuing improvement of administrative, clinical, diagnostic and instructional practices related to the learning process."
Literacy Texas
As stated on its website: "Literacy Texas is the statewide literacy coalition, connecting and equipping adult and family literacy providers through training, networking, and advocacy."
Texas Association for Literacy Education (TALE) Facebook page
The Texas affiliate of the International Literacy Association, supporting teachers who develop learners' skills in reading, writing, speaking, listening, viewing, and representing.
Texas Reads
"Empowering educators to advance literacy and learning through evidence-based practices in the classroom." from its website