Here is a list of top Sociology journals
To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.
If you see this button while searching in one of our databases:
Click on the button and it will search within the library's databases to find the full text version of the article for you. If the full text version cannot be found, simply click on Request item via ILL and it will request the article for you through our Interlibrary Loan system, ILLiad. The article will then be emailed to your Jaguar account within a week or two.
A database provides access to published materials in scholarly journals, magazines, newspaper, books and other valuable information sources. Search databases below to find articles on your topic!
A comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Access multidisciplinary research delivered with info on emerging trends, subject specific content, and analysis tools. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present.
Includes international literature of sociology and social work, as well as relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, and population studies. Supports hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations.
This resource provides comprehensive indexing and full-text access to numerous academic journals, offering extensive coverage across various social science disciplines. Encompassing fields such as anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Researchers can stay up to date in their fields through these critical reviews of primary research literature written by leading scientists. This collection covers 41 disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Provides a focus on fundamental areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Includes studies pertaining to the social, political and economic relations between races and ethnicities.
This research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Features an index containing thousands of records covering areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, and family therapy. This resource provides coverage back to 1979.
This resource covers essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in the database’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
PSC has a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
An expansive abstracting and indexing database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Articles and monographs from the 1940s pertaining to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental technology and law, urban planning and more.
A collection of academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. This collection was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.
This database has searchable abstracts and citations for over three million dissertations and theses. All documents since 1980 have searchable abstracts with over one million of the documents since 1997 having full text PDF versions.
What is a scholarly article?
Many professors require students to cite scholarly journal articles in their research papers. Scholarly journals contain articles written by scholars for scholars. Articles are reviewed by other scholars before they are published. This is called peer review.
Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" or "peer reviewed" journals.
Types of scholarly articles
There are two different kinds of scholarly articles researchers cite frequently in their work.
You can access library resources by searching Google Scholar!
If you are on-campus, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
Please keep in mind that not everything available through your library is cited on Google Scholar, so be sure to also use the library's online databases for your research needs. You can also ask your subject librarian for help!
You will need to enter your A&M-SA network username and password to get into the library's databases from off-campus. If you need assistance with this, please visit our Off-Campus Access page.
