Finding Primary Sources Research Guide

Access the San Antonio Express-News from 1867-2015. For 1990-present, see Access World News (NewsBank).

Access the Dallas Morning News from 1885-1984.

Access the Fort Worth Star Telegram from 1902-2015.

Access the Houston Chronicle from 1901-2015.

Access the Houston Post from 1880-1995.

Access the San Antonio Light from 1882-1993.

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of American newspapers, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, and obituaries. This collection chronicles the evolution of culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.

A searchable collection of full-text Hispanic American newspapers published in the U.S.

This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life – as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. HLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science and technology, and society and culture from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era. 

This resource incorporates 3 resources: 

 

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.

African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.

This site allows users access to scanned newspaper pages from 1880-1910 for newspapers published in the United States. Users also have the ability to find information about published American newspapers from 1690 to the present.

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Users can search articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields.

Use this database to search through more than 15,000 sources for U.S. and world news. Look up legal cases including U.S. Supreme Court decisions as old as 1790, find company information, state profiles, legal reviews, state legal research and more.

This database contains a full-text collection of newspapers, news magazines, newswires, articles, and television and radio news transcripts from global sources such as AP, NPR, CNN International, CBC (Canadian), Xinhua (China), and more.

Find international, national, and regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, The Guardian, El Norte, and South China Morning Post. Search by company, geographic area, products, people, or subject.

Included:

• Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest)
• Global Breaking Newswires (ProQuest)
• International Newsstream (ProQuest)
• U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)