A database provides access to published materials in scholarly journals, magazines, newspaper, books and other valuable information sources. Search the databases below with keywords related to your topic to find scholarly articles.
Start with JSTOR or America History and Life.
This link opens in a new windowCoverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
This link opens in a new windowConsists of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
This link opens in a new windowContains full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home & garden, and sports & leisure, as well as biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans.
This link opens in a new windowA valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.
Peer-reviewed articles are articles that have been evaluated by the writer's professional colleagues or peers. The idea is that the reviewers will judge the writer on scholarly standards within the field by examining the research methodology, style, ethics, etc.
Most academic databases will allow you to find peer-reviewed articles by simply checking a box as you refine your search.
Need a reminder on the peer-review process? Check out this video.