This link opens in a new windowSearch 650+ titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, & reference handbooks covering the arts, business, health, history, literature, math, religion, etc. Over 1,000 videos, 300,000 art images, and thousands of images for other subjects.
NOTE:
Credo is launching a new platform later this year! The new platform will bring a sleeker user interface and enhanced features to improve research and instruction.
These are some of the highlights:
Anticipated date of migration is June 26, 2023.
Handbook of Disability Studies by
`This remarkable book is unlike any other I have reviewed, for a variety of reasons. Firstly, at 700 pages and with 34 chapters, the sheer scale of the collection is vast. The editors state that the book is not definitive, but represents a creative work in progress. However, the collection certainly provides a unique insight into the current debates and issues which frame disability studies, combining a variety of different backgrounds and a diverse range of experiences, and this manifests in the way that the chapters range across academic disciplines. Consequently, the book is aimed at a wide audience including disabled people, practitioners, academics and those involved in forming social welfare policies′ - Medical Sociology News ′This text is truly a welcome reference book to any desk, library or organization where people are interested in this field or working with people with a disability′ - Nursing & Residential Care ′This text is truly a welcome reference book to any desk, library or organization where people are interested in this field or working with people with a disability′ - Nursing & Residential Care The path-breaking Handbook of Disability Studies signals the emergence of a vital new area of scholarship, social policy and activism. Drawing on the insights of disability scholars around the world and the creative advice of an international editorial board, the book engages the reader in the critical issues and debates framing disability studies and places them in an historical and cultural context. Five years in the making, this one volume summarizes the ongoing discourse ranging across continents and traditional academic disciplines. The Handbook answers the need expressed by the disability community for a thought provoking, interdisciplinary, international examination of the vibrant field of disability studies. The book is of interest to disabled people, scholars, policy makers and activists alike. The book defines the existing field, stimulates future debate, encourages respectful discourse between different interest groups and moves the field forward.
Keywords for Disability Studies by
Keywords for Disability Studies aims to broaden and define the conceptual framework of disability studies for readers and practitioners in the field and beyond. The volume engages some of the most pressing debates of our time, such as prenatal testing, euthanasia, accessibility in public transportation and the workplace, post-traumatic stress, and questions about the beginning and end of life. Each of the 60 essays in Keywords for Disability Studies focuses on a distinct critical concept, including "ethics," "medicalization," "performance," "reproduction," "identity," and "stigma," among others. Although the essays recognize that "disability" is often used as an umbrella term, the contributors to the volume avoid treating individual disabilities as keywords, and instead interrogate concepts that encompass different components of the social and bodily experience of disability. The essays approach disability as an embodied condition, a mutable historical phenomenon, and a social, political, and cultural identity. An invaluable resource for students and scholars alike, Keywords for Disability Studies brings the debates that have often remained internal to disability studies into a wider field of critical discourse, providing opportunities for fresh theoretical considerations of the field's core presuppositions through a variety of disciplinary perspectives. Visit keywords.nyupress.org for online essays, teaching resources, and more.
Encyclopedia of American Disability History by 
Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies by
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Studiestakes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and consisting entirely of newly commissioned chapters arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting edge areas as well as core areas of contention.　 Divided in five sections, this comprehensive handbook covers: different models and approaches to disability how key impairment groups have engaged with disability studies and the writings within the discipline policy and legislation responses to disability studies and to disability activism disability studies and its interaction with other disciplines, such as history, philosophy and science and technology studies disability studies and different life experiences, examining how disability and disability studies intersects with ethnicity, sexuality, gender, childhood and ageing. Containing chapters from an international selection of leading scholars, this authoritative handbook is an invaluable reference for all academics, researchers and more advanced students in disability studies and associated disciplines such as sociology, health studies and social work.
Reference sources are extremely useful for providing authoritative overviews and background information on a topic. They will give you the terminology, key names, dates and concepts that can be used when conducting online searches for scholarly articles and books on your topic. Many reference sources also provide extensive bibliographies that list the important and influential scholarship on a given topic.
Examples of Reference Books:
Search tip! Add one of the words above to you search in the University's catalog to find additional reference books!