Be Money Smart

This site offers tips for avoiding identify theft, as well as warning signs to watch for and local law enforcement agencies that can help victims.

Created by Congress, the CFPB provides consumers with information and resources to educate them about financial service providers and they enforce consumer financial protection laws.

From the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), this site provides general information, ways on protecting yourself, and how to report identity theft. Provides links and contact information to our nearest FBI office.

From onguardonline.gov, this site offers helpful tips on recognizing and avoiding a phishing scam.

This site from the Federal Trade Commission offers advice on what to do right away, what to do next, as well as information on types of identity theft and safeguards to prevent identity theft.

Their mission is to provide victim assistance, educate consumers, and "serve as a national resource on consumer issues related to cybersecurity, data breaches, social media, fraud, scams and other issues."

From the Internal Revenue Service, this site provides information regarding identity theft and covers a variety of scenarios and additional resources that may be helpful.

Provides an annotated bibliography of federal, state, and consumer and industry resources on Identity Theft (including national and Texas resources).

A government website that can be searched for information about identity fraud, online crimes, and how to prevent them.

The Privacy Rights Clearinghouse (PRC) is a nonprofit consumer organization with a two-part mission: consumer information and consumer advocacy. This site provides fact sheets, videos, quizzes, speeches, and articles on identity theft & data breeches.

This Identity Theft Victim’s Kit can help you with the process of recovering from the identity crime committed against you.

Identity theft information and resources for situations unique to college students.

A website that provides general information and contact information for the fraud section.

The Forgery Unit is responsible for investigating credit card abuse, identity theft, counterfeit/forged checks, tampering with government records, and counterfeit U.S. Currency cases (in conjunction with the U.S. Secret Service).

Credit Reports and Scores - Find out how to get your credit report, make corrections, and more.