BIOL 4103: Zoology Research Guide

Images, descriptions of common Texas insects, from the book A Field Guide to Common Texas Insects, Bastiaan Drees and John Jackman.

AQUAPLANT is designed to help you identify aquatic plants using photos, drawings, and descriptions.

Descriptions and sketches of Texas freshwater fish provided by the Texas Parks and Wildlife.

Provides photographs for marine species.

The Parks and Wildlife Department provides descriptions of wildlife found along the Texas coastline.

The collections within the BRTC serve as historical evidence of the distribution of wildlife in Texas, and provide valuable ecological and life history information for an array of species.

The book contains information on the distribution, physical characteristics and life histories of the 181 species of Texas mammals.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”

The Ecology and Natural Resources Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries.

The Ethelind Pope Brown Collection of South Carolina Natural History is comprised of 32 opaque watercolors, or gouaches, on paper. Each depicts at least one species of flora and fauna (primarily birds, trees, and flowering plants) found in the American Southeast.

Included in the collection are biological and natural history studies depicting plant and animal forms, including works on herbs, insects, human physiognomy, genetics, and eugenics. This collection also includes works by and about Gregor Mendel.

These books are what are called "herbals". Writers of early herbals were more concerned with curing illnesses than describing plants, and thus these early publications included remedies not only from the plant world, but also from the animal and mineral kingdoms.

The History of Four-Footed Beasts and Serpents (1658) by Edward Topsell depicts mammals and reptiles, both real and fantastical, in detailed woodcuts. Topsell originally published his illustrated Historie of Foure-footed Beastes, Describing the True and Lively Figure of Every Beast, in 1607. In 1608 he followed it with The Historie of Serpents; Or the Second Booke of Living Creatures. In 1658, twenty years after his death, Topsell’s zoological books were reissued together as part of a three-volume work called The History of Four-footed Beasts and Serpents.

This collection contains over 1700 full length videos and clips related to Biology.