Skip to Main Content

BIOL 3409: Cellular Physiology Research Guide

Identify and Find Primary Scientific Literature

What is primary scientific literature? 

In the context of this guide, the phrase "primary research article" is synonymous with "original research article". In your science courses, your professors may also call these more simply "peer-reviewed articles", "scholarly articles", or "journal articles".

Why is published primary research important?

Primary research articles are the written manifestation of scientific experimentation and discovery. This is the process by which we "do" and communicate science!

​Most primary research articles are formatted using the "IMRD" structure (in bold below), with additional minor sections as follows:
  • Title
  • Abstract: Concise summary of the study.
  • Introduction: Communicates the research context for the subject (background knowledge, existing research), the "big question" and predictions (hypotheses) that were tested, the research question's significance, and helps orient the reader to the study.
  • Methods (or Materials & Methods): Details study design, research subjects/population, equipment, and data collection & analysis methods.
  • Results: Summarizes actual findings from the experiments and studies described in the Methods section. Results should be presented objectively based on data, not interpreted. Often includes figures and/or tables.
  • Discussion: Presents an analysis and interpretation of study data. Should answer or address the hypothesis from the Introduction. May discuss study limitations and possibilities for additional research. 
  • References / Bibliography

How can I find primary journal articles?

Using databases!  They provide full-text articles published in broad subject areas, as well as allowing you to use keywords to search for specific topics. Many databases will allow you to limit your results to peer reviewed.

A great database to find primary literature is ScienceDirect (link below). For additional databases that contain both primary and secondary, click on the main "Find Articles" tab.

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This collection provides full-text access to over 2300 peer-reviewed, Elsevier journals from 2010-present. To view primary articles only, select the advanced search option, then select the journal tab, check the article box and enter your search terms to conduct a search.

Primary articles can be difficult to read at times.  Here are some tips on how to read one:

1. Secondary Literature: Provides a summary of scientific research and is written for the non-specialist. It may be published in a book, magazine or journal.  Secondary literature can provide an overview of all the research conducted in an area; articles that do this are called review articles. 

2. Grey Literature: It includes papers, reports, technical notes or other documents produced and published by governmental agencies, academic institutions and other groups that are not distributed or indexed by commercial publishers. It is the initial reporting of research findings subjected to internal review before publication. Usually any research will be published in grey literature before it is published in the primary literature.