A&M-SA Research Guides: Mathematics Research Guide: Finding Articles

Research Resources

Some more helpful tips!

Select the appropriate database for your search. If you are off campus, make sure you are accessing databases via the library website, which will prompt you to authenticate with your Jaguar ID.
For some topics, you may want to repeat your search in an additional database to add to your unique results list.
Each database has detailed help screens to assist you if you're having trouble and provide tips to help you hone your searching skills. Library databases are more complicated than Google, but they are worth the extra effort to find appropriate sources!

Contact me for more help! We can schedule an appointment or work via e-mail at Alexandra.Deleon@tamusa.edu.

Below are a few examples of scholarly journals that the University Library subscribes to in the area of mathematics.

Find A Specific Journal: If you are looking for a certain journal or to find an article from a citation, click the link and then click the Articles tab.

Algebra & Logic
"This journal publishes results of the latest research in the areas of modern general algebra and of logic considered primarily from an algebraic viewpoint" --from the publisher
Linear and Multilinear Algebra
"This journal publishes original research papers that advance the study of linear and multilinear algebra, or that apply the techniques of linear and multilinear algebra in other branches of mathematics and science."--from the publisher
The American Statistician
The American Statistician is a peer-reviewed journal that contains articles on the following topics, current national and international statistical problems and programs,
Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society
American Mathematical Monthly

Springer Journals Online (SpringerNature) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Springer provides online access to the contents journals covering a wide array of subjects, including science, technology, medicine, humanities, and law. Some materials outside of our subscription may have preview-only access.

Search the databases below to find scholarly journal articles related to the sciences as well as mathematics

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection focuses on engineering challenges and the business and social implications of new technology. Subjects include acoustics, chemistry, communication and information technology, energy resources, engineering, plastics, robotics and more.
Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access multidisciplinary research delivered with info on emerging trends, subject specific content, and analysis tools. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full-text access to over 2300 peer-reviewed, Elsevier journals from 2010-present. Search for information pertaining to the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and more.
Science & Technology Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to scholarly literature of mathematics with helpful search tools that allow the user to search within the given results, refining their searches without losing their original query.
Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text journal and magazine articles covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.

The Open Access movement works to make scholarly research freely available to all. While mathematicians have not been as quick as scientists in other fields to adopt Open Access journals and Open Access repositories, some research is available in the Open Access literature.

Bentham (Bentham Open) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes 230+ peer-reviewed online journals covering all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social sciences. Each journal title publishes research and letter articles written by international experts in their respective fields.

Note: When trying to access this resource, you may encounter a warning "Your connection is not private". Simply click the "Advanced" button at the bottom left of that page, then click "Proceed to benthamopen.com (unsafe)" to access this resource. You are seeing this warning because this resource currently does not use Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).
arXiv (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to approximately 745,000 e-prints which cover subject areas such as physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
Directory of Open Access Journals (Lund University Libraries) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. Information is available for most disciplines.