A&M-SA Research Guides: U.S. Federal Government Information Research Guide: Supreme &amp; Federal Courts

U.S. Supreme Court

HeinOnline Academic (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains a U.S. Supreme Court Library collection which includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court. In addition, it includes a collection on the History of Supreme Court Nominations which features the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee.
Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Supreme Court Cases contain documents from the U.S. Supreme Court. A document is a case (a decision or order) decided by the court. Contains cases from 1790 to the present. From the home page, select cases and then U.S. Supreme Court. The most recent cases will display but you can use the search box at the top to search for past cases.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search through more than 15,000 sources for U.S. and world news. Look up legal cases including U.S. Supreme Court decisions as old as 1790, find company information, state profiles, legal reviews, state legal research and more
Search tips: Select Federal or State Cases with search terms
After entering your search, see the limits on the side to limit your search by court (e.g. United States Supreme Court).

The Supreme Court Database
Washington University in Saint Louis created this comprehensive database. It contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms. It is ever expanding collection. The goal is to eventually to cover all Court terms.
The Oyez Project
This site details major Supreme Court cases from the 1970s onward. It provides transcripts and audio arguments for the cases. The site also provides updated for recent cases.
Supreme Court Opinions
Cornell University's Legal Information Institute provides a full-text syllabus, full-text opinions, concurrences, and dissents from 1990 to the present.

Federal Courts

Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus Research contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments. Westlaw Campus Research is powered by WestSearch, which dramatically improves searching and the ability to find the most relevant information quickly. Westlaw Campus Research is a premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information, making it a great resources for law, business, and criminal justice students.
Primary features include:
• Analytical sources like American Jurisprudence 2d
• American Law Reports
• Black's Law Dictionary
• 800+ law reviews and journals
• Primary law sources like USCA, CFR, Federal Register and all federal, state and Supreme Court cases
• Newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and company information
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search through more than 15,000 sources for U.S. and world news. Look up legal cases including U.S. Supreme Court decisions as old as 1790, find company information, state profiles, legal reviews, state legal research and more
Search tips: Select Federal or State Cases with search terms
After entering your search, see the limits on the side to limit your search by court (e.g. United States Supreme Court).

FindLaw
Contains links for both state and federal cases. Opinions are categorized by jurisdiction.