A&M-SA Research Guides: U.S. Federal Government Information Research Guide: President

Publications of the President

American Presidency Project (APP)
Searchable database that contains executive orders, proclamations, veto messages, State of the Union addresses, and inaugural addresses.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: Search
Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events. In instances when the release date differs from the date of the document itself, that fact is shown in the textnote. Date ranges 1991-2005

HeinOnline Academic (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains U.S. Presidential Library collection which includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents related to U.S. Presidents.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

American Presidency Project
John Woolley and Gerhard Peters, both of the University of California, Santa Barbara, started this project to focus on the American Presidency. This site gives data, election, audio and video archive, photography, and provides useful links.

Executive Privilege (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides primary and secondary source material such as government documents from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, as well as law review articles and books invoking, debating, and exploring instances of executive privilege from the country’s founding to the present day.
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together a variety of documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president's impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each impeachment played out and the long view history has taken of each proceeding. Congressional Research Service reports round out a general discussion of presidential impeachment and a curated list of scholarly articles, external links, and a bibliography provide avenues for further research on this topic.

The Miller Center-The American President: Presidency in Action
A comprehensive collection of material about the US Presidents and the history of the presidency. This web site features essays about the President's life before, during, and after each presidential term. It additionally provides information about the First Lady and cabinet officials of each administration. A collection of essays on the President at Work delves into the function, responsibilities, and organization of the modern presidency and traces the history and evolution of the presidency.
Museum of the Moving Image--The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2012
This site showcases Presidential campaign commercials since Eisenhower's victory in 1952 to Obama's victory in 2008.

White House (Executive Office of the President) This link opens in a new window
Access up-to-date information on the executive branch of the United States. Watch the Presidential weekly address, access information on the White House staff, and the current issues faced by the U.S. government.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Presidential Libraries
Presidential Libraries and Museums promote understanding of the presidency and the American experience. They preserve and provide access to historical materials, support research, and create interactive programs and exhibits that educate and inspire.