The University Library now houses a growing number of comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes a wide range of comics, graphic novels, manga as well as scholarship on comics studies. Examples include comics related to superheroes, comic strips, non-fiction & memoirs, science fiction, horror, young adults, and more. The library also has a special collection of Latinx comics which contains over 80 comics and graphic novels by and about Hispanic/Latinx authors and artists and/or feature Hispanic/Latinx characters. Learn more about Latinx comics and superheroes as well as more about the library's Latinx comics collection and you can browse the Latinx Comic collection online. The Latinx comics special collection is generously sponsored by a grant from the President’s Commission on Equity and Inclusive Excellence.
The Comics & Graphic Novels collection is located on the first floor of the library. Browse the featured titles below or search the library catalog to find more! Use the terms "Comic books", "Graphic Novels", or manga in the library catalog to help limit your results. You can then further limit your search by author, format, date of publication, etc. using the options in the left sidebar.
Celebrate Free Comic Book Day @ the University Library! Each year on the first Saturday of May, the comics industry comes together to encourage curious, first-time comic book readers and seasoned comic book fans by providing free comics at local comic shops and libraries.
Stop by the information desk on the first floor of the library starting Sat. May 4th to pick up a free comic book while supplies last! Grab a free coffee and check out our Comic and Graphic Novel collection while you are there! You can check out comics and graphic novels from the library with your University ID.
FCBD® & logo used under permission of Diamond Comic Distributors, Inc.
Looking for titles that we don't have? Help us grow our collection by letting us know and we'll look into buying it! Or, ask us to borrow it from another library through our interlibrary loan program.
Tell the library what you think about the new comic book and graphic novel collection!
With Great Power Comes Great Pedagogy:Teaching, Learning, and Comics by 
Wham! Teaching with Graphic Novels Across the Curriculum by 
Graphic Novels in High School and Middle School Classrooms by 
Teaching Comics Through Multiple Lenses by 
This link opens in a new windowCoverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
This link opens in a new windowProvides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
This link opens in a new windowAccess this collection of integral journals for the humanities and social sciences, including many published by prominent university presses and scholarly societies.
This link opens in a new window
Offers over 750 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books as well as over 63,000 images. Topics include advertising art, archaeology, architecture, costume design, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, videos, etc.
University Library, BLH, (210) 784-1500, library@tamusa.edu, Library Hours, Schedule an Appointment with a Librarian, Chat with the Library
Banner Graphic Attribution: Comic Banner Vectors by Vecteezy