Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15 by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Carribean and Central and South America. The day of September 15 is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries such as Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September 18, respectively.
In honor of Hispanic Heritage Month, check out the wide variety of resources available at A&M-SA University Library! Below are links to films, databases, journals, and primary source digital collections. Click on the E-books and Print Books tabs on the left to view a selection of titles. See more information about viewing library resources from off-campus.
Please note that some of the suggested readings have been identified to raise awareness on various mental health issues as well as identify coping skills to manage psychological well-being. If you are interested in exploring other ways to access mental health services, please contact Texas A&M University – San Antonio’s Student Counseling Center at (210) 784-1331 or stucounseling@tamusa.edu.
To learn more about the University events, view the Hispanic Heritage Month event page.
This guide is by no means exhaustive and is limited to items that our library is able to provide remote access for. If you know of a related book or film that you would like the library to purchase you can suggest it here, or if you want us to add a resource to this guide please send your suggestions to library@tamusa.edu.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowConsists of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
This link opens in a new window
This collection covers U.S. Latino and Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, civil rights, religious thought, culture, and women writers. Formats include pamphlets and broadsides, newspapers, monographs, etc. Most content is in Spanish.
This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. It is an indispensable tool of exceptional scope designed to make academic research readily accessible in PDF format.
This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of full-text Hispanic American newspapers published in the U.S.
This link opens in a new windowThis primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life – as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. HLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science and technology, and society and culture from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era.
This resource incorporates 3 resources:
This link opens in a new windowAn exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
This link opens in a new windowCoverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.
Below are a few examples of scholarly journals that the University Library subscribes to in the area of Latinx studies.
Keyword Search Strategies
When books and articles were written and cataloged in the past, terms were used that we now would consider somewhat outdated. Remember, to make certain you are searching comprehensively, it is sometimes necessary to use terms that were commonplace in the past. Below are some examples of keywords to search when using the library catalog or the research databases.
Combine keywords to narrow your search:
Broaden your search by adding OR between the keywords or phrases:
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.