A&M-SA Research Guides: Russian Invasion of Ukraine: Overview

Ukraine Invasion News

NPR-State of Ukraine Podcast With reporters on the ground, conversations with politicians and officials, and breakdowns of what's going on, we'll bring you everything you need to know about the Russian invasion of Ukraine, multiple times a day. We'll discuss the conflict's past, its possible futures, and what each new development means for the rest of the world.
PBS Newshour - Ukraine
Associated Press: Russia-Ukraine Conflict
Kyiv Independent The Kyiv Independent is Ukraine’s English-language media outlet, created by journalists who were fired from the Kyiv Post for defending editorial independence.
The Guardian- Ukraine crisis
BBC News- War in Ukraine
Al Jazeera: Russia-Ukraine Crisis
Russian Ukraine War New York Times The University Library subscribes to the NYT. Create an account to access online, phone, or tablet. On the New York Times page, click on the Create Account link. You must use your university email when registering. For example: John.Doe@jaguar.tamu.edu for students. jdoe@tamusa.edu for faculty and staff. You will have access to the New York Times for one year. Questions? Call the University Library at 210-784-15

Twitter Accounts to Follow

Newspaper Databases

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find international, national, and regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, The Guardian, El Norte, and South China Morning Post. Search by company, geographic area, products, people, or subject.
Included:
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search through more than 15,000 sources for U.S. and world news. Look up legal cases including U.S. Supreme Court decisions as old as 1790, find company information, state profiles, legal reviews, state legal research and more.
New York Times All Access Digital Pass (The New York Times Company) This link opens in a new window
Search and browse The New York Times from 1851-present. Users must go through the library’s link to register for an account. Once registered, an account is valid for one year and may be used to access The New York Times website directly.
Creating an Account with the New York Times:

On the New York Times page, click on the Create Account link.
You must use your university email when registering. For example:
- John.Doe@jaguar.tamu.edu for students.
- jdoe@tamusa.edu for faculty and staff.
You will have access to the New York Times for one year.
Questions? Call the University Library at 210-784-1500.

Books in Our Library

Search the library catalog to find more!

The Gates of Europe: A History of Ukraine

The Strongman: Vladimir Putin and the Strugles for Russia

Weak Strongman:The limits of Power in Putin's Russia

European-Russian Power Relations in Turbulent Times

The Burden of the Past: History, Memory, and Identity in contemporary Ukraine

The War in Ukraine's Donbas :Oorigins, Contexts, and the Future

The Crimean Nexus : Putin's War and the Clash of Civilizations.

Nazi Empire-Building and the Holocaust in Ukraine

Memory Crash : The Politics of History In and Around Ukraine, 1980s-2010s

Where Currents Meet: Frontiers of Memory in Post-Soviet Fiction of Kharkiv, Ukraine

Regionalism without Regions: Reconceptualizing Ukraine's Heterogeneity

The Moulding of Ukraine:The Constitutional Politics of State Formation

Ukrainian Question: Russian Empire and Nationalism in the 19th Century

Heroes and Villains:Creating National History in Contemporary Ukraine

Secondhand Time : The Last of the Soviets

Near Abroad : Putin, the West, and the contest over Ukraine and the Caucasus

Russia and the Soviet Union: A Syllabus of Background Readings (JSTOR)
Message from JSTOR: "It is the early hours of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. No one knows what will happen next, but we hope the following stories from our archives will help readers understand the military, economic, and geographic history that has preceded this moment, and provide the resources and context for teachers and students in the days ahead."
The Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute's "War on Ukraine" Guide
Information on the current crisis and its immediate historical context from Harvard's Ukrainian Research Institute, the primary center of Ukrainian studies in the United States
Policy Commons: War in Ukraine
A custom search on grey literature published in 2022 on the war in Ukraine and Russia

You need to create a free account in order to view content.
NATO's "The Russian Invasion of Ukraine - Special LibGuide
A structured information resource compiled by the NATO Library, including texts of official documents (NATO, EU), articles, reports, and multimedia content related to Russia's invasion of Ukraine.
NPR:Russia's at war with Ukraine. Here's how we got here
U.S. State Department: Fact vs Fiction: Russian Disinformation on Ukraine
European Union

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PSC has a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Military Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Maps

Source: Institute for the Study of War with American Enterprise Institute’s Critical Threats Project (Russian-occupied areas) | Note: Occupied areas are as of 3 p.m. Eastern on March 3. The New York Times

Russia Invades Ukraine (Reuters)
This Reuters map is frequently updated to track the Russian invasion of Ukraine.
Tracking the Russian Invasion of Ukraine (New York Times)
This NYT map is frequently updated to track the Russian invasion of Ukraine.
Russia-Ukraine Monitor Map
The Russia-Ukraine Monitor Map is a crowdsourced effort to map, document and verify information in order to provide reliable information for policymakers and journalists of the on-the-ground and online situation in and around Ukraine. This map is created by the Centre For Information Resilience.
How Ukraine became Ukraine, 7 Maps
Washington Post reporters Ishaan Tharoor
and Gene Thorp, developed this series of historical maps in 2015.

Country Profiles

World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency) This link opens in a new window
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for world entities. Also includes maps and flags of the major world regions and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

BBC Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."

The Statesman's Yearbook 2021
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1349959723
Publication Date: 2021
The Statesman's Yearbook provides information on every country in the world, covering political, economic, social and cultural aspects.

International Responses

NATO’s response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine
United Nations - Ukraine Crisis Response
United Nations Resolution Rejecting the Russian Federation's invasion of Ukraine (3/1/22)
This link will open a PDF of the United Nations Resolution Rejecting the Russian Federation's invasion of Ukraine
EU solidarity with Ukraine
European Parliament Resolution on the Russian aggression against Ukraine (3/1/22)
US Embassy in Ukraine
US Dept. of State - United With Ukraine

Videos

A&M-SA Presentation, Russia Invades Ukraine: What You Need to Know
Drs. Ed Westermann and Andrew Sanders held a session on the Russian invasion of Ukraine and the unfolding crisis. This event took place on 3/3/22.
Frontline: Putin's Way FRONTLINE and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation go behind the latest headlines to investigate Russian leader Vladimir Putin-his remarkable ascent from unemployed spy to modern-day czar, and the persistent accusations of criminality and corruption that have accompanied that rise.
Frontline: Putin's Revenge, Part One Amid claims he hacked the 2016 election, the inside story of Vladimir Putin’s conflict with the U.S. An investigation of Putin’s mounting grievances with the U.S. and his efforts to exact revenge leading up to the presidential election.
Frontline:Putin's Revenge Part Two How the U.S. struggled to confront Vladimir Putin over Russian involvement in the 2016 election. The film investigates how revenge may have motivated Putin to target American democracy, and the U.S. responses under Presidents Obama and Trump.
The Unfolding Ukraine-Russia Crisis: The Great Courses Survey of the 2014 crisis in Ukraine and see how the origins of this conflict stem from the last hundred years of the region's history, which is rife with skirmishes and shifting borders. After providing the historical context, Professor Liulevicius explains the ins and outs of the current crisis, including ethnic divisions within Ukraine and Russia's attitude toward former Soviet territory.
Understanding Russia: A Cultural History Series- The Great Courses Blending history with cultural studies, Understanding Russia: A Cultural History brings you closer than ever to the Russian people through the poetry of Pushkin, the comfort of early folk tales, the faith of medieval iconography, the avant-garde films of Eisenstein, and more. These 24 lectures will help you finally understand the complex, thrilling, and undeniably fascinating Russian spirit.

Russian Invasion of Ukraine

Overview