A&M-SA Research Guides: Math Methods PreK-12 Research Guide: Find Multimedia &amp; Professional Organizations

Find Multimedia on Math Education

Find Multimedia (Mostly Streaming Video)

Academic Video Online: Premium (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, commercials, training, lectures, etc. from varied sources (PBS, CBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc.) covering education, counseling and therapy, humanities, politics & current affairs, and more.
Ambrose Video Publishing (Ambrose Video Publishing) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to video collections: 16th-20th Century Turning Points in America, BBC Shakespeare Plays, Great American Authors, A History of Hispanic Achievement in America, A History of Women’s Achievement in America, and When the Water Tap Runs Dry.
Artstor Digital Library (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over 2 million images from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists covering the areas of anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, world history, and more.
Credo Reference (Credo) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 650+ titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, & reference handbooks covering the arts, business, health, history, literature, math, religion, etc. Over 1,000 videos, 300,000 art images, and thousands of images for other subjects.

NOTE:
Credo is launching a new platform later this year! The new platform will bring a sleeker user interface and enhanced features to improve research and instruction.

These are some of the highlights:
- New, refreshed home page
- Improved Mind Map with a dedicated page to use in instruction
- Easier navigation and better visibility for:
  - Filtering
  - Federated search integrations
  - Research Quick Tips
  - Book navigation
- Advanced Search refinement
- New personal folders for users to save results
- Updated summary articles on current topics and top search terms
Anticipated date of migration is June 26, 2023.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Video Collection (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains streaming full-length videos and clips in a wide variety of subject areas from producers including TED, PBS, National Geographic, A&E, BBC, and more.
Kanopy (Kanopy Streaming) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An on-demand streaming video platform with a collection of documentaries, classics, and indie films.

Professional Organizations for Math Educators

Professional & Other Not-for-profit Organizations for Math Educators

Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (AMTE)
The AMTE is dedicated to improving math teacher education and supports the pre-service training and continued professional development of math educators teaching students levels PreK through college.
Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators in Texas (AMTE-Tx)
The Texas affiliation of the national AMTE, its mission is "to promote the improvement of mathematics teacher education in all its aspects in the State of Texas." It hosts an annual state conference and publishes a peer-reviewed journal, the Journal of Mathematics Teacher Education in Texas.
CEMELA - Center for Mathematics Education of Latinos/as
As stated on its website: "The Center for the Mathematics Education of Latinos/as (CEMELA) is an interdisciplinary, multi-university consortium focused on the research and practice of the teaching and learning of mathematics with Latino students in the United States." The four universities involved are the University of Arizona; University of California, Santa Cruz; University of Illinois at Chicago; and the University of New Mexico.
Mathematical Association of America (MAA)
Including members at all levels of math education as well as those working in other math-related careers, their mission is simply "to advance the understanding of mathematics and its impact on our world."
National Council of Supervisors of Mathematics (NCSM)
Their mission from their website: "NCSM is a mathematics education leadership organization that equips and empowers a diverse education community to engage in leadership that supports, sustains, and inspires high quality mathematics teaching and learning every day for each and every learner."
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
Established over 100 years ago and arguably the most important professional organization for math teachers in the U.S. Provides access to classroom resources, conferences and other professional development, highlighted research, grants/awards, standards, and more.
School Science and Mathematics Association (SSMA)
Founded in 1901 to bring "together researchers and teachers to promote research, scholarship, and practice to improve school science and mathematics" and to advance their integration.
Texas Council of Teachers of Mathematics (TCTM)
According to its website: "TCTM's mission is focused in five areas: recruit and retain mathematics teachers, support curriculum and instruction, advocate education policy, communicate with teachers and serve as the Texas partner affiliate to the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)." The organization publishes a journal Texas Mathematics Teacher and hosts an annual conference.
TODOS--Mathematics for All
Promoting excellence and equity in math education for all students, with a focus on Latino/a students. Has a refereed journal TEEM and offers professional development as well as advocacy, networking, and other resources.