Learning Engineering Practice by
This book explains engineering practice, what engineers actually do in their work. The first part explains how to find paid engineering work and prepare for an engineering career. The second part explains the fundamentals of engineering practice, including how to gain access to technical knowledge, how to gain the willing collaboration of other people to make things happen, and how to work safely in hazardous environments. Other chapters explain engineering aspects of project management missed in most courses, how to create commercial value from engineering work and estimate costs, and how to navigate cultural complexities successfully. Later chapters provide guidance on sustainability, time management and avoiding the most common frustrations encountered by engineers at work. This book has been written for engineering students, graduates and novice engineers. Supervisors, mentors and human resources professionals will also find the book helpful to guide early-career engineers and assess their progress. Engineering schools will find the book helpful to help students prepare for professional internships and also for creating authentic practice and assessment exercises.
Electrical Engineering by
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering is an excellent introduction into the areas of electricity, electronic devices and electrochemistry. The book covers aspects of electrical science including Ohm and Kirkoff's laws, P-N junctions, semiconductors, circuit diagrams, magnetic fields, electrochemistry, and devices such as DC motors. This text is useful for students of electrical, chemical, materials, and mechanical engineering.
Introductory Electrical Engineering with Math Explained in Accessible Language by
Offers an understanding of the theoretical principles in electronic engineering, in clear and understandable terms Introductory Electrical Engineering With Math Explained in Accessible Language offers a text that explores the basic concepts and principles of electrical engineering. The author--a noted expert on the topic--explains the underlying mathematics involved in electrical engineering through the use of examples that help with an understanding of the theory. The text contains clear explanations of the mathematical theory that is needed to understand every topic presented, which will aid students in engineering courses who may lack the necessary basic math knowledge. Designed to breakdown complex math concepts into understandable terms, the book incorporates several math tricks and knowledge such as matrices determinant and multiplication. The author also explains how certain mathematical formulas are derived. In addition, the text includes tables of integrals and other tables to help, for example, find resistors' and capacitors' values. The author provides the accessible language, examples, and images that make the topic accessible and understandable. This important book: * Contains discussion of concepts that go from the basic to the complex, always using simplified language * Provides examples, diagrams, and illustrations that work to enhance explanations * Explains the mathematical knowledge that is crucial to understanding electrical concepts * Contains both solved exercises in-line with the explanations Written for students, electronic hobbyists and technicians, Introductory Electrical Engineering With Math Explained in Accessible Language is a much-needed text that is filled with the basics concepts of electrical engineering with the approachable math that aids in an understanding of the topic.
Dive Into Systems: A Gentle Introduction to Computer Systems by
Dive into systems serves as an introduction to computer systems, computer organization, and parallel computing.
Machine Learning Engineering in Action by
Machine Learning Engineering in Action lays out an approach to building deployable, maintainable production machine learning systems. You will adopt software development standards that deliver better code management, and make it easier to test, scale, and even reuse your machine learning code! You will learn how to plan and scope your project, manage cross-team logistics that avoid fatal communication failures, and design your code's architecture for improved resilience. You will even discover when not to use machine learning--and the alternative approaches that might be cheaper and more effective. When you're done working through this toolbox guide, you will be able to reliably deliver cost-effective solutions for organizations big and small alike. Following established processes and methodology maximizes the likelihood that your machine learning projects will survive and succeed for the long haul. By adopting standard, reproducible practices, your projects will be maintainable over time and easy for new team members to understand and adapt.
Data-Driven Science and Engineering by
Data-driven discovery is revolutionizing how we model, predict, and control complex systems. Now with Python and MATLAB®, this textbook trains mathematical scientists and engineers for the next generation of scientific discovery by offering a broad overview of the growing intersection of data-driven methods, machine learning, applied optimization, and classical fields of engineering mathematics and mathematical physics. With a focus on integrating dynamical systems modeling and control with modern methods in applied machine learning, this text includes methods that were chosen for their relevance, simplicity, and generality. Topics range from introductory to research-level material, making it accessible to advanced undergraduate and beginning graduate students from the engineering and physical sciences. The second edition features new chapters on reinforcement learning and physics-informed machine learning, significant new sections throughout, and chapter exercises. Online supplementary material - including lecture videos per section, homeworks, data, and code in MATLAB®, Python, Julia, and R - available on databookuw.com.
Public Policy Writing That Matters by
Hone your public policy writing--and make a significant impact on the world. Students and professionals across a variety of disciplines need to write public policy in a manner that inspires action and genuine change. You may have amazing ideas about how to improve the world, but if you aren't able to communicate these ideas well, they simply won't become reality. In Public Policy Writing That Matters, communications specialist David Chrisinger argues that public policy writing is most persuasive when it tells clear, concrete stories about people doing things. Combining helpful hints and cautionary tales with writing exercises and excerpts from sample policy documents, Chrisinger teaches readers to craft concise, story-driven pieces that exceed the stylistic requirements and limitations of traditional policy writing. Too often, public policy writing is convoluted, opaque, and exclusive. Chrisinger, who teaches introductory policy writing courses around the country, offers a step-by-step guide for anyone interested in planning, organizing, developing, writing, and revising accessible public policy. From the most effective use of data visualization, the best way to write a sentence, and the ideal moment to add a compelling anecdote to advice on using facts to strengthen an argument, this little book, inspired by Strunk & White's classic style guide, will allow anyone crafting public policy to make a bigger impact. Aimed at helping students and professionals overcome their default impulses to merely "explain," this book reveals proven, classroom-tested tips for writing sophisticated policy that is also easy to understand. This practical, concise handbook will not only aid students throughout graduate school but will also remain a reference to consult throughout their professional careers. A vital tool for any policy writer or analyst, Public Policy Writing That Mattersis a book for everyone passionate about using writing to effect real and lasting change.
To Engineer Is Human by
How did a simple design error cause one of the great disasters of the 1980s - the collapse of the walkways at the Kansas City Hyatt Regency Hotel? What made the graceful and innovative Tacoma Narrows Bridge twist apart in a mild wind in 1940? How did an oversized waterlily inspire the magnificent Crystal Palace, the crowning achievement of Victorian architecture and engineering? These are some of the failures and successes that Henry Petroski, author of the acclaimed The Pencil, examines in this engaging, wonderfully literate book. More than a series of fascinating case studies, To Engineer is Human is a work that looks at our deepest notions of progress and perfection, tracing the fine connection between the quantifiable realm of science and the chaotic realities of everyday life.
Offshore Projects and Engineering Management by
Offshore Projects and Engineering Management delivers a critical training tool for engineers on how to prepare cost estimates and understand the most recent management methods. Specific to the oil and gas offshore industry, the reference dives into project economics, interface management and contracts. Methods for analyzing risk, activity calculations and risk response strategies are covered for offshore, FPSO and pipelines. Supported with case studies, detailed discussions, and practical applications, this comprehensive book gives oil and gas managers a management toolbox to extend asset life, reduce costs and minimalize impact to personnel and environment. Oil and gas assets are under constant pressure and engineers and managers need engineering management training and strategies to ensure their operations are safe and cost effective. This book helps manage the ramp up to the management of offshore structures.
The IEEE Xplore digital library provides access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electronics, electrical engineering, computing, biomedical engineering and related technologies. This includes full text access to over 5.4 million documents including IEEE journal articles, magazine articles, conference papers, and active standards.
The largest IEEE book publishing division, IEEE Press publishes technical books in all the fields served by IEEE and includes original monographs, edited volumes, and reference works for the engineering community, as well as introductory technology books intended for the general public. IEEE Press books are published in print and eBook format. The staff of the IEEE Press and John Wiley & Sons work with the IEEE Press Editorial Board to identify book projects to be published by co-publishing partners John Wiley & Sons through a collaborative publishing agreement signed in 2001 and renewed in 2014.
This database provides access to technology, creative, and business books and videos from leading publishers. All of the content is vetted, reliable, and provided by the world's leading publishers and authors.
Creating an Account with O’Reilly for Higher Education:
On the login page, select "Not listed? Click here." in the "Select your institution" box. Then create an account using your university email address.
You must use your university email when registering. For example:
Use this account to access content.
Questions? Call the University Library at 210-784-1500.