Children's Literature
Resources for Doing a Content Analysis of Children's or YA Literature
-
Children's Literature & Culture (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Explore a stunning collection of rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that reveals the socio-cultural history of these times. Showcasing innovative new publishing methods characteristic of the golden age of children’s literature, from mass-produced chapbooks to richly illustrated ‘book-beautifuls’, this resource examines the way in which new concepts were introduced to young readers, encouraging an engagement with the imagination which went on to fundamentally shape established notions of childhood.
-
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new windowLocate recommendations for children's and YA books and media with this resource's 2.6 million+ fiction/non-fiction records, national/international awards information, and professional reviews. Also includes lesson plans and teaching guides.
-
TeachingBooks.net (TeachingBooks.net) This link opens in a new window
A resource for K-12 educators to encourage reading in students. Includes book guides, lesson plans, author and illustrator interviews, audio character name pronunciations, national and state book lists, and more. Includes Spanish language resources.
About the Library Catalog
Use the Library Catalog to Find E-books, Print Books, Multimedia, and Curriculum Materials
Note: If you are looking for peer-reviewed articles, use databases on the Find Articles page of this guide.
Search A&M-SA's Library Catalog
Featured Books
The Bloombury Handbook of Rural Education in the United States
"Examines the ways in which definitions, histories, policies and demographic changes influence rural schools." Also describes "how corporatization, population changes, poverty, and the role of data affect everyday learning in rural schools."
Navigating the American Education System: Four Latino Success Stories
"Showcases the educational journey of four Latino/a men and women who navigated the American education system successfully. Their success is significant given the multiple and varied challenges that most Latinos/as encounter throughout the K-20 educational continuum."
Educational Technology Beyond Content: A New Focus for Learning
"Argues that informational content should not be the main element of education." Therefore, technology should not just provide a container for content but rather should engage learners in developing abilities to "synthesize, solve problems, and generate ideas."
Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment: Intersecting New Needs and New Approaches
Middle school students "experience more complicated lives as influences of the broader society including popular media and technology, immigration and cultural diversity, amplified political divisiveness, and bullying effect their daily lives both in and out of school." Therefore students and their teachers need social emotional supports.
Social and Emotional Learning in the Classroom, Second Edition
"Provides a best-practice guide to planning and implementing social and emotional learning (SEL) in K-12 classrooms and schools." Includes strategies for integration with academic content and mental health interventions, creating culturally affirming instruction, using assessment effectively, and supporting educators' SE needs,
Research Design in Education & Social Sciences
Need to Design a Research Study? These Resources Can Help.
-
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) (SAGE Publications) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on methods of research at every step in the research process with books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, little green books, little blue books, videos, etc.
-
Research Design
by
Call Number: H 62. C6963 2018ISBN: 9781506386706Publication Date: 2018-01-02Comprehensively compares qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For each type, the authors "include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry." -
Practical Research Methods in Education: An Early Researcher's Critical Guide
by
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781351188371Publication Date: 2019-03-04The guide "draws on the research, practical experience and reflections of active researchers, each chapter offers explanations, examples, tasks for students to undertake and suggestions for further reading, all of which are designed to strengthen understanding of practical methods of data collection in educational and social-science research." -
Foundations of Education Research
by
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780429452963Publication Date: 2019-07-12"Defines, discusses, and offers applications for the central components of educational research, providing both novice and experienced researchers with a common ground from which to work" and "includes a discussion of similarities and differences in education research." Offers specific examples and practice questions. -
Conducting Quantitative Research in Education
by
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9789811391323Publication Date: 2020"Provides a clear and straightforward guide for all those seeking to conduct quantitative research in the field of education, using primary research data samples." Focus is on the effective use of non-parametric data.
