Find Multimedia & Professional Organization Websites - Education - Educator Cafe & Field Courses - A&M-SA Research Guides at Texas A&M University-San Antonio University Library

Video Databases

Databases for Multimedia (Mainly Streaming Video) on Education Topics

Academic Video Online: Premium (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, commercials, training, lectures, etc. from varied sources (PBS, CBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc.) covering education, counseling and therapy, humanities, politics & current affairs, and more.
Ambrose Video Publishing (Ambrose Video Publishing) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to video collections: 16th-20th Century Turning Points in America, BBC Shakespeare Plays, Great American Authors, A History of Hispanic Achievement in America, A History of Women’s Achievement in America, and When the Water Tap Runs Dry.
BBC Shakespeare Plays (Ambrose Video Publishing) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent, these videos are an ideal choice. The 37 plays in this series include Hamlet, Julius Caesar, Much Ado About Nothing, Taming of the Shrew, and more.
Education in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Kanopy (Kanopy Streaming) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An on-demand streaming video platform with a collection of documentaries, classics, and indie films.
Master Academic Video Collection (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains streaming full-length videos and clips in a wide variety of subject areas from producers including TED, PBS, National Geographic, A&E, BBC, and more.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) (SAGE Publications) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on methods of research at every step in the research process with books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, little green books, little blue books, videos, etc.
Visual History Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the USC Shoah Foundation, this online database contains video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide from the Armenian Genocide, the Nanjing Massacre, the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Holocaust.

Professional Organization Websites

A Sample of Education-related Professional Organizations are Listed Below.

This is not an exhaustive list. Most subject area and other specialties (Mathematics, English, Science, Foreign language, School Libraries, Special Education, etc.) also have organizations to support their members and interests.
Many of these organizations charge membership fees, however, they often offer discounted memberships for students studying to be professional educators.
The NEA and AFT (and possibly others on this list) function as labor unions in addition to offering professional networking and learning opportunities.
Some of the organizations below also have affiliated Texas chapters or units.

American Educational Research Association (AERA)
"The American Educational Research Association (AERA), a national research society, strives to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good."
American Federation of Teachers (AFT)
The AFT describes itself as "a union of professionals that champions fairness; democracy; economic opportunity; and high-quality public education, healthcare and public services for our students, their families and our communities. We are committed to advancing these principles through community engagement, organizing, collective bargaining and political activism, and especially through the work our members do."
Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE)
According to its website: "AMLE is the only international organization of its kind for middle school educators, serving as the go-to source for peer-reviewed research, best practice, and professional development."
Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD)
From its website: "ASCD empowers educators to achieve excellence in learning, teaching, and leading so that every child is healthy, safe, engaged, supported, and challenged. Comprising 113,573 members—superintendents, principals, teachers, and advocates from more than 129 countries—the ASCD community also includes 71 affiliate organizations."
Association of American Educators (AAE)
The AAE describes itself as "the largest national, non-union, professional educators' organization, advancing the profession by offering a modern approach to teacher representation and educational advocacy, as well as promoting professionalism, collaboration and excellence without a partisan agenda."
Communities in Schools (CIS)
Non-profit organization active in 26 states and DC that uses an evidence-based model to connect students with caring adults and community resources so that "every student, regardless of race, gender, ability, zip code, or socioeconomic background" can "realize their full potential."
International Literacy Association (ILA)
The ILA is "a professional organization connecting research and practice to continuously improve the quality of literacy instruction across the globe."
Military Child Education Coalition (MCEC)
MCEC is a national organization that "supports all military-connected children by educating, advocating, and collaborating to resolve education challenges associated with the military lifestyle."
National Education Association (NEA)
"The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education."
National Parent Teacher Association (PTA)
The National "PTA's mission is to make every child’s potential a reality by engaging and empowering families and communities to advocate for all children."
Phi Delta Kappa International (PDK)
An honor society and more for students earning education degrees and professional teachers. The organization is now international in scope and conducts research, offers professional development opportunities, provides school system solutions, and sponsors competitions with financial awards.

Texas Education Websites, Foundations, and Organizations

Branch Alliance for Educator Diversity (BranchED)
Headquartered in Austin, Texas, this non-profit works with other partners to support minority serving institutions' (MSI) educator preparation programs nationwide, with the purpose of increasing diversity and equity in the teaching profession.
Educate Texas
The Educate Texas foundation calls itself "a catalyst for large-scale educational systems change" which "has partnered with public and private entities for more than a decade to achieve the goal of improving the public and higher education system in Texas so that every student is prepared for and achieves success in school, in the workforce and in life."
Raise Your Hand Texas
A foundation that "supports public policy solutions that invest in our students, encourage innovation and autonomy, and improve college and workforce readiness." It funds programs which emphasize "developing and strengthening school leaders and teachers, engaging families in the educational experience, and advancing classroom learning with innovative instructional practices to benefit all students."
Texas Association of School Boards
The Texas Association of School Boards site includes various types of information useful to school board members and also a listing of other related state agencies and organizations.
Texas Education Agency (TEA)
Collector and distributor of education-related standards, policies, and mandates as established through the Texas state legislature. The Academics page includes a link to the Texas Essential Knowledge & Skills standards around which curriculum is built. Other links on the site go to school performance data, financial reports, grants applications, training resources, educator certification information, and more.
Texas Educators page of TEA
This page offers information to support current educators and those seeking certification including testing requirements, certification renewal procedures, etc. Also includes explanations for service record determinations, minimum salary specifications, and more.
Texas Early Learning Council
"Serves as Texas' state advisory council as required by the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act" and "utilizes its breadth of stakeholder representation to increase coordination and collaboration across state agencies and local program and service providers in order to improve the quality of and access to early childhood services across Texas. In 2019, the Council led a statewide birth-five needs assessment and strategic plan as part of Texas's Preschool Development Grant project."