History Research Guide

This two-part collection provides primary and secondary sources on American history from early settlers through the end of World War II through correspondence, diaries, government documents, photographs, newspapers, broadsides, artwork, and more.

Note: When trying to access this resource, you may encounter a warning "Your connection is not private". Simply click the "Advanced" button at the bottom left of that page, then click "Proceed to americanhistory.amdigital.co.uk (unsafe)" to access this resource. You are seeing this warning because this resource currently does not use Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).

Four modules are available with this resource:
 

• Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files chronicle the local heroes of the civil rights revolution via NAACP branches throughout the United States, from 1913-1972.
• The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces documents the NAACP's systematic assault on segregated education that culminated in Brown v. Board of Education in 1954.
• The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files consists of the working case files of the NAACP's general counsel and his Legal Department staff for the period from 1956 to 1972.
• The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses focuses on the NAACP's efforts to combat lynching, mob violence, discrimination in the criminal justice system, and white resistance to civil rights efforts.

This resource is a gateway to unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Find photographs, maps, books, newspapers and more.

The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.

HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Rights database charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations, and Historical Attitudes and Analysis.

This collection is rounded out by a curated list of Scholarly Articles selected by Hein editors, as well as a Bibliography of titles to launch your research outside of HeinOnline. Finally, an interactive timeline, incorporating documents from HeinOnline with other media from around the internet, plots out an overview of LGBTQ rights in America from 1950 to the present day, helping to demonstrate the relevancy of the content within the database to the real-world events to which they are connected.

This collection covers U.S. Latino and Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, civil rights, religious thought, culture, and women writers. Formats include pamphlets and broadsides, newspapers, monographs, etc. Most content is in Spanish.

Access written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience in this digital record of American history and creativity.

Offers early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials illuminating more than 250 years of American history, literature, culture, and daily life and enabling researchers to explore America’s past in unprecedented ways.

The premier collection of periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 in America. This collection documents American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.

This collection contains primary source materials, such as original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources pertaining to a variety of topics of the American West: Gold Rush, pioneers, explorers, hunters, Native Americans, railroads, etc.

Note: When trying to access this resource, you may encounter a warning "Your connection is not private". Simply click the "Advanced" button at the bottom left of that page, then click "Proceed to americanwest.amdigital.co.uk (unsafe)" to access this resource. You are seeing this warning because this resource currently does not use Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).

Primary source material, such as original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images, pertaining to the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today are included in this collection.

Note: When trying to access this resource, you may encounter a warning "Your connection is not private". Simply click the "Advanced" button at the bottom left of that page, then click "Proceed to slavery.amdigital.co.uk (unsafe)" to access this resource. You are seeing this warning because this resource currently does not use Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).

A collection of materials including statutes, legal cases, books, and pamphlets about slavery in the United States and its continued issues through the early 19th century. Scholarly article content is not included in this free access version.

Covering 300+ years, this collection of women’s diaries and correspondence draws material from journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, conference proceedings, & more. Great for research in women’s studies, history, sociology, and literature.

This website includes the texts of the nine remaining treaties created between American Indian tribes and the United States government from 1722 to 1805. Also provides links to all other early treaties.

Note: When trying to access this resource, you may encounter a warning "Your connection is not private". Simply click the "Advanced" button at the bottom left of that page, then click "Proceed to earlytreaties.unl.edu (unsafe)" to access this resource. You are seeing this warning because this resource currently does not use Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).

A digital file covering the history of every American territory before it became an American state, covering 1764-1953. Includes series 1-4.

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The database covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.

Note: When trying to access this resource, you may encounter a warning "Your connection is not private". Simply click the "Advanced" button at the bottom left of that page, then click "Proceed to europeanamericana.com (unsafe)" to access this resource. You are seeing this warning because this resource currently does not use Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).

Early English Books Online contains digital facsimile page images of most English language books printed from 1473-1700. Includes works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America, and more.

From the USC Shoah Foundation, this online database contains video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide from the Armenian Genocide, the Nanjing Massacre, the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Holocaust.

The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.