A database provides access to published materials in scholarly journals, magazines, newspaper, books and other valuable information sources. Search the databases below with keywords related to your topic to find scholarly articles.
For North American history, start with JSTOR or America History and Life. For world history, start with Historical Abstracts.
This link opens in a new windowCoverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
This link opens in a new windowConsists of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
This link opens in a new windowAn exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
This link opens in a new windowAccess this collection of integral journals for the humanities and social sciences, including many published by prominent university presses and scholarly societies.
This link opens in a new windowContains full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home & garden, and sports & leisure, as well as biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans.
This link opens in a new windowA valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
This link opens in a new windowAims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. Information is available for most disciplines.
This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907 offering worldwide content including articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works of fiction, as well as reviews of performing arts (movies, ballets, plays, etc).
This link opens in a new windowThis database has searchable abstracts and citations for over three million dissertations and theses. All documents since 1980 have searchable abstracts with over one million of the documents since 1997 having full text PDF versions.
This link opens in a new windowOffers over 430,000 full-text biographies from sources such as Biography Today, Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, American Reference Library, Encyclopædia Britannica, and more.
Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly literature on the web, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from one place. You can also access library resources from Google Scholar as well!
If you are on-campus, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.
Peer-reviewed articles are articles that have been evaluated by the writer's professional colleagues or peers. The idea is that the reviewers will judge the writer on scholarly standards within the field by examining the research methodology, style, ethics, etc.
Most academic databases will allow you to find peer-reviewed articles by simply checking a box as you refine your search.
Need a reminder on the peer-review process? Check out this video.