February 2025 Hours and Events

Through images, maps, texts, and educational materials, this website sheds light on the thirteen defining migrations that formed and transformed African America.

This is a guide to African American history and culture from PBS and NPR. It includes a timeline of important historical events, activities for kids, and PBS lesson plans which cover history, arts and culture, race and society, and biographical profiles.

The mission of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) is to promote, research, preserve, interpret and disseminate information about black life, history and culture to the global community.

This 10,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history in the United States and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world. It includes an online encyclopedia and full text primary documents and major speeches of black activists and leaders from the 18th Century to the present.

These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs Divisions of the Library of Congress and includes more than 200 photographs...

Check out videos, classroom study guides, recommended articles and more from history.com. Get more information on the key people, themes, and events associated with Black History.

This site offers perspective on how African Americans were and are represented in popular culture. It displays, quite blunt, caricatures in order to provide an understanding how racism permeated society.

Established in 1968 by Coretta Scott King, The King Center is the official, living memorial dedicated to the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. The website boasts a digital archive that includes more than one million documents associated with his life and philosophy.

The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination. Sign up now at their website and they will send you a daily fact about Black History every day during February via text messaging.

Explore the sounds of Jazz, Blues, Gospel, and Carribean music from the extensive holdings of the Library of Congress. One can search the database by era, genre, and artist.

The San Antonio African American Community Archive and Museum (SAAACAM) is working in a grassroots effort to uncover the legacy that reaches back to the early days of the Spanish colonists and Texas Republic. SAAACAM is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization formed to collect, maintain, disseminate, and interpret authentic African American artifacts related to San Antonio area history in a community-based digital archive.

The exhibition Voices of Civil Rights documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States... [It] features twenty oral histories and seventeen photographs taken during the "Voices of Civil Rights" bus tour, which started from Washington, D.C., on August 3, 2004. This seventy-day tour, through twenty-two states and thirty-nine cities, followed part of the route of the 1961 Freedom Rides to Jackson, Mississippi, and then proceeded to other historic civil rights sites.

WWOZ 90.7 FM is the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Station, a community radio station currently operating out of the French Market Corporation Offices in New Orleans, Louisiana. [The station] a listener-supported, volunteer-programmed radio station. WWOZ covers many events live in and around the city and across the United States.