A&M-SA Research Guides: Educational Leadership and Administration Research Guide: Find Education Data, Statistics, Law, and Policies

Education Data and Statistics

Looking for Education Data and Statistics to Use as Evidence? Explore These Sources.

Research & Statistics Page of the U.S. Department of Education
Take a look at Featured Resources, particularly the K-12 Schools/Students and Student Outcomes sections. Fast Facts might also be useful for certain types of information
National Center for Education Statistics
Part of the U.S. Department of Education website, this site includes data sets and statistics relevant to all levels of education. What's New at NCES includes links to the most current reports and analyses available through the site, including the annual Condition of Education report mandated by Congress. Additionally, researchers can access raw data sets for analysis using tools provided by NCES.
World Bank's Education Statistics Portal (EdStats)
From the EdStats home page: "The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is your comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures, policy, and equity."
Education Data Portal of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development (OECD)
Tracks data indicators such as educational attainment; educational resources; international student assessment; numbers of teachers and students; and more.
Texas Education Agency Reports and Data pages
Includes educator data, financial reports, school district data, student data, and legislative information specific to Texas.
Pew Research Center
According to its website, the Pew Research Center conducts "public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social sciences research." Use the Search box on the site to enter education topics and find potentially relevant reports, articles, and data.
Kids Count
Non-profit advocacy organization, part of the Annie E. Casey Foundation.

Websites for Information on Laws & Court Cases

Important United States & Texas Court Websites plus a U.S. Department of Education Link

Oyez
"Oyez, the free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955."
more...less...
"Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia)."
Supreme Court of Texas
Find opinions, case documents, oral arguments and information about the Supreme Court of Texas.
Texas Children's Commission
"The Supreme Court of Texas established the Children's Commission in 2007 with the overall goal of improving the child welfare system by increasing public awareness of challenges facing children and families involved in the child welfare system and bringing attention to this important issue through judicial leadership, reforming judicial practice, and informing policy affecting child welfare" (From the website).
Supreme Court of the United States
Find opinions, case documents, oral arguments and additional information about the United States Supreme Court.
Supreme Court of the United States - Audiorecordings of Arguments
Listen to live recordings of oral arguments made before the United States Supreme Courts. Open coverage includes all cases from 2010-2020.
U.S. Department of Education's Laws & Guidance Page
Includes information related to Every Student Succees Act (ESSA), the amended (2017) text of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, links to the Individuals with Disabilities Act website, FERPA guidance, and more.

Using Google Scholar to Find Case Law

Searching Case Law Using Google Scholar

Open Google Scholar
Select the Case law option
Google Scholar will likely recognize what state you are in when you access it, so you will be given options to select Federal Courts or Texas courts
Alternately, you can select specific circuits and courts by clicking on Select courts to see all the choices
Enter topic keywords or a specific case depending on what you are seeking

The Screenshot Below Shows the Google Scholar Search Screen, Calling Out Specific Features

Law Library in San Antonio

Sarita Kenedy East Law Library
St. Mary's University Law Library in San Antonio.

Educational Leadership and Administration Research Guide

Featured OER Resource

Oyez

Education Policies

Links to National and Texas Education Laws and Policies Sites

Related Guide -- Westlaw

Tips for Searching Westlaw

Education Data and Statistics

Looking for Education Data and Statistics to Use as Evidence? Explore These Sources.

Websites for Information on Laws & Court Cases

Important United States & Texas Court Websites plus a U.S. Department of Education Link

Using Google Scholar to Find Case Law

Searching Case Law Using Google Scholar

The Screenshot Below Shows the Google Scholar Search Screen, Calling Out Specific Features

Law Library in San Antonio