A&M-SA Research Guides: June 2024 Hours and Events: Articles and Journals

Articles

To view the full text of each article, click on the article's title and then click on the maroon "View Full Text" button in the next window. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login with your JagWIRE credentials. For a description of the article's contents, hover your mouse over the "i" icon.

The ABCs of L.G.B.T.Q.I.A.+
Illuminating the On-Campus Experience of LGBTQ Students Through Photovoice The authors used photovoice to illuminate the on-campus experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer college students (n = 8) attending a public university in the Midwest. Participants attended 6 photovoice sessions, which the authors transcribed and analyzed, using photographs to contextualize themes. Overarching themes reflected negative experiences on campus, including feeling categorized and practicing self-censorship. However, students also identified safe zones and advocacy as themes related to their on-campus experiences. The authors present implications for counseling practitioners and scholars.
Gay-Straight Alliances in the Battle for Rights: A Tipping Point for Progress Over Prohibition This is a brief essay on the oppressive natures of school and the rights of students to arm themselves with the creation of Gay-Straight Alliances (GSAs). Students who identify as LGBTQ are at higher risk for victimization, among other negative outcomes. For those who identify as LGBTQ, GSAs are often a safe-haven from the heteronormative realities of school, yet students face continued opposition. This essay describes how GSAs can counter the oppressive effects of schooling.
Generations of Mentorship: Conversations with L.G.B.T.Q. Elders As gay, lesbian and transgender communities become less stigmatized — in part thanks to mentor-mentee relationships — will it be easier for young people to imagine a life where they actually grow old?
Tracing LGBTQ Community College Students’ Experiences This chapter details the perspectives of LGBTQ collegians and faculty/staff allies at 2-year institutions.
Tumbling Into Queer Utopias and Vortexes: Experiences of LGBTQ Social Media Users on Tumblr Drawing on one year of fieldwork with LGBTQ youth, I explore the ways Tumblr, a microblogging and social networking site, has become a vibrant center of queer discourse and collectivity. I argue that for LGBTQ users, Tumblr simultaneously generates the specter of a “queer utopia”-a space where queer potential flourishes and more expansive ways to think about the future materialize-and queer “vortextuality”-an experience of being sucked into an online black hole with severe limitations. Furthermore, the user experience on the site underscores the profound vulnerability of queer individuals and communities in digital, corporatized space.
Visualizing Queer Spaces: LGBTQ Students and the Traditionally Heterogendered Institution As colleges and universities have increased campus programs, LGBTQ students continue to experience marginalization within the very spaces intended to support them. This study explored how LGBTQ college students experienced campus climate at a Midwest Urban Public (MUP) institution through a framework of the traditionally heterogendered institution (THI). Through traditional notions of sexuality and gender, college campuses systemically, structurally, and programmatically uphold discourses which reify heterogendered ideals. Institutional spaces continue to be organized along the gender binary, which perpetuate unwelcoming environments for LGBTQ communities. Relying on a critical photovisual narrative methodology and discourse analysis, participants' findings reveal how LGBTQ students engage with campus spaces historically exclusionary of their identities. As a data collection tool, photography allowed for sensory rich interview data enhancing the study's findings. Findings illuminate how a MUP university engages in traditionally heterogendered discourses and provides valuable implications for college and university practitioners to begin challenging ideals established in the THI.

Suggested Journals

Below are a few individual journal titles that pertain to LBGTQ+. For more information about each journal, hover over the 'i' icon for a brief description.

Black Women, Gender + Families The primary mission of Black Women, Gender & Families is to analyze, develop, and further Black Women's Studies paradigms. It centers the study of Black women and gender within the critical discourses of history, the social sciences, and the humanities.
Gender & Society Gender & Society, the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, is a top-ranked journal in sociology and women's studies and publishes less than 10% of all papers submitted to it. Articles analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces. The journal publishes empirical articles, along with reviews of books.
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality. In an effort to achieve the widest possible historical, geographic, and cultural scope, GLQ particularly seeks out new research into historical periods before the twentieth century, into non-Anglophone cultures, and into the experience of those who have been marginalized by race, ethnicity, age, social class, body morphology, or sexual practice.
International Journal of Transgenderism International Journal of Transgenderism, together with its partner organization the World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH), offers an international, multidisciplinary scholarly forum for publication in the field of transgender health in its broadest sense for academics, practitioners, policy makers, and the general population.
Journal of Bisexuality The Journal of Bisexuality is the first professional quarterly to publish both professional articles and serious essays on bisexuality and its meaning for the individual, the community, and society
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health seeks out and publishes the most current clinical and research scholarship on LGBT mental health with a focus on clinical issues. The Journal strives to represent the full breadth of LGBT mental health treatment, including issues relevant to patients and mental health care providers in all types of settings. Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health also strives to cover the full spectrum of sexual and gender minority populations -- lesbian, gay,bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer, and gender-queer.
Journal of Homosexuality The Journal of Homosexuality is an internationally acclaimed, peer-reviewed publication devoted to publishing a wide variety of disciplinary and interdisciplinary scholarship to foster a thorough understanding of the complexities, nuances, and the multifaceted aspects of sexuality and gender. The chief aim of the journal is to publish thought-provoking scholarship by researchers, community activists, and scholars who employ a range of research methodologies and who offer a variety of perspectives to continue shaping knowledge production in the arenas of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) studies and queer studies.
Journal of Language and Sexuality Aims to present research on the discursive formations of sexuality, including sexual desire, sexual identities, sexual politics and sexuality in diaspora.
Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity is a scholarly journal dedicated to the dissemination of information in the field of sexual orientation and gender diversity. It is a primary outlet for research particularly as it impacts practice, education, public policy, and social action.
Sexuality & Culture Sexuality & Culture offers an international forum for analysis of ethical, cultural, psychological, social, and political issues related to sexual relationships and sexual behavior. Coverage extends to sexual consent and sexual responsibility; harassment and freedom of speech; privacy; censorship and pornography; impact of film and literature on sexual relationships; and university and governmental regulation of intimate relationships, such as interracial relationships and student-professor relationships.
Sexuality Research and Social Policy Sexuality Research and Social Policy is an international forum for the publication of original peer-reviewed state-of-the-art empirical research on sexuality, theoretical and methodological discussions, and the implications of this evidence for policies across the globe regarding sexual health, sexuality education, and sexual rights in diverse communities. This multidisciplinary journal also publishes brief research and conference reports; white papers; book, film, and other reviews; together with guest editorials and commentaries. In addition, Sexuality Research and Social Policy occasionally publishes special issues on timely topics.
The Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide Provides a forum for discussion & analysis of contemporary gay, lesbian & bisexual ideas & literature.
The Journal of Sex Research Presents articles, review articles and commentary on a wide variety of issues involved in the scientific study of sexuality.

Suggested Databases

Search the database collections below to find scholarly articles. Please make sure you read the database description to ensure you will be searching the most appropriate subject journal collection for your topic.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PSC has a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Project MUSE Basic Research Collection (Johns Hopkins University Press) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access this collection of integral journals for the humanities and social sciences, including many published by prominent university presses and scholarly societies.