The following websites will provide you with more information on Juneteenth.
These are just a sampling of articles in the news discussing Juneteenth.
Looking to gather some quick historical facts about Juneteenth? Look no further than the Credo Reference database. Here you'll find information from encyclopedias and other reference books to get you started.
This link opens in a new windowSearch 650+ titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, & reference handbooks covering the arts, business, health, history, literature, math, religion, etc. Over 1,000 videos, 300,000 art images, and thousands of images for other subjects.
NOTE:
Credo is launching a new platform later this year! The new platform will bring a sleeker user interface and enhanced features to improve research and instruction.
These are some of the highlights:
Anticipated date of migration is June 26, 2023.
Juneteenth is the oldest known celebration commemorating the end of slavery in the United States. On June 19, 1865, Union soldiers led by Major General Gordon Granger landed at Galveston, Texas with news that the war had ended and that the enslaved were now free. This was two and a half years after President Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation which became official on January 1, 1863. Unfortunately the Emancipation Proclamation had little impact on Texans due to the minimal number of Union troops to enforce it. For more information, please visit https://www.juneteenth.com/history.htm
Image borrowed from https://medium.com/firstpres/honoring-juneteenth-9eb095bf0988
Follow these instructions to place a hold on any of these titles and library staff will pull them for you and notify you when they are ready to be picked up. Be sure to bring your A&M-SA ID with you if you are interested in checking out any of these books.
All Different Now by 
Between the World and Me by 
Go down, Old Hannah by 
The History of Juneteenth by 
How the Word Is Passed by 
Juneteenth for Mazie by 
Opal Lee and What It Means to Be Free by 
San Antonio on Parade by 
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You by To view any of the e-books below, click on the book's title and on the next screen, click where it says "View ebook." If you are off campus you will be asked to sign in with your JagWIRE credentials. For a description of each book, hover your mouse over the book's title.
The Best of Texas Folk and Folklore, 1916-1954 by 
It Happened in Texas: Remarkable Events that Shaped History by 
Lone Star Unionism, Dissent, and Resistance: Other Sides of Civil War Texas by 
Ralph Ellison and the Raft of Hope by 
Waiting in Line at the Drugstore and Other Writings of James Thomas Jackson by Want to dig a little deeper? You'll find great information in these databases.
This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers provide important original source material--written by African-Americans for African-Americans--readily available for research and fresh interpretation by history buffs, educators, and students.
This link opens in a new windowConsists of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
This link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
This link opens in a new window
Provides a focus on fundamental areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Includes studies pertaining to the social, political and economic relations between races and ethnicities.
This link opens in a new windowPrimary source material, such as original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images, pertaining to the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today are included in this collection.
Note: When trying to access this resource, you may encounter a warning "Your connection is not private". Simply click the "Advanced" button at the bottom left of that page, then click "Proceed to slavery.amdigital.co.uk (unsafe)" to access this resource. You are seeing this warning because this resource currently does not use Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).
This link opens in a new windowA collection of materials including statutes, legal cases, books, and pamphlets about slavery in the United States and its continued issues through the early 19th century. Scholarly article content is not included in this free access version.
