Below are a few examples of scholarly journals that the University Library subscribes to in the area of Political Science.
To Find an Article from a Citation, click the link above and then click the Articles tab.
The following databases below will provide access to thousands of scholarly journal articles, conference papers and other similar research documents by keywords, author or other criteria.
PSC has a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Covers literature of political science and international relations, includes topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy. Has thousands of conference proceedings, recent doctoral dissertations on political science topics, and country reports.
Coverage of humanities disciplines including history, language & literature, art & art history, education, philosophy, classical studies, and music. Also includes a digitized group of rare 19th and early 20th century American Art periodicals.
A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database with full-text peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This database contains information on US law and government as well as constitutions from around the globe.
Links to Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE); Democracy in America; Gun Regulation and Legislation in America; History of Supreme Court Nominations; Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.; and Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies: A Bibliographic Listing.
Use this database to search through more than 15,000 sources for U.S. and world news. Look up legal cases including U.S. Supreme Court decisions as old as 1790, find company information, state profiles, legal reviews, state legal research and more.
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
Access multidisciplinary research delivered with info on emerging trends, subject specific content, and analysis tools. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present.
Provides a focus on fundamental areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Includes studies pertaining to the social, political and economic relations between races and ethnicities.
The Cross National Time Series Data Archive is a comprehensive resource that provides historical data on a wide range of socio-economic and political indicators for various countries. Established to support academic research, the archive includes time series data that span over two centuries, offering insights into global patterns and trends. Researchers use this data to analyze and compare national developments across different time periods and regions, making it a valuable tool for studies in political science, economics, sociology, and history.
Note: Access to this resource ends July 31, 2025.
Westlaw Campus Research contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments. Westlaw Campus Research is powered by WestSearch, which dramatically improves searching and the ability to find the most relevant information quickly. Westlaw Campus Research is a premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information, making it a great resources for law, business, and criminal justice students.
Primary features include:
• Analytical sources like American Jurisprudence 2d
• American Law Reports
• Black's Law Dictionary
• 800+ law reviews and journals
• Primary law sources like USCA, CFR, Federal Register and all federal, state and Supreme Court cases
• Newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and company information
Offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.
View more search tips and videos on the Research Help Tutorials tab on the guide.
What is a scholarly article?
Many professors require students to cite scholarly journal articles in their research papers. Scholarly journals contain articles written by scholars for scholars. Articles are reviewed by other scholars before they are published. This is called peer review.
Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" or "peer reviewed" journals.
Types of scholarly articles
There are two different kinds of scholarly articles researchers cite frequently in their work.
Peer reviewed articles are articles that have been evaluated by the writer's colleagues (peers). The idea with peer review is that the reviewers uphold standards within the field in terms of research methodology, style, ethics, etc.
Most academic databases will allow you to find peer reviewed articles by simply checking a box as you refine your search.
Need a reminder on the peer review process? Check out this video by NCSU Libraries.
