A&M-SA Research Guides: Data for the Social Sciences Research Guide: State & Local

State Data & Statisics

data.census.gov (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau which includes statistics about population, housing, industry, and business.
Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.
PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.

Texas Data Repository
The Texas Data Repository is a platform for publishing and archiving datasets (and other data products) created by faculty, staff, and students at Texas higher education institutions. The repository is built in an open-source application called the Dataverse software, developed and used by Harvard University.
Crime in Texas
The Department of Public Safety provides statistics about crime in Texas.
Office of the State Demographer
The Office of the State Demographer disseminates demographic and related socioeconomic data to the State of Texas and the general public. The State Demographer monitors demographic and socioeconomic changes in the State in order to better inform the executive and legislative branches of Texas government. Special emphasis is placed on data that may be useful to policy makers in dealing with issues regarding the demand for state services.
Open Data (Texas State Government)
Open data promotes government transparency, citizen participation, and the efficient use of public resources. Find and access public information here.
Texas Department of Criminal Justice Statistics
The nine member Texas Board of Criminal Justice (TBCJ) is appointed by the governor to oversee the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ), which provides confinement, supervision, rehabilitation, and reintegration of the state’s convicted felons. this pages provides statistics about the penal system in Texas.
Texas Economy at a Glance
The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides a snapshot of the economics of the state.
Texas Education Agency Reports & Data
Texas has one of the largest education data bases in the world. It provides a treasure trove of information for researchers, parents and the public at large to mine and learn about the workings of 1,200 districts and charters, as well as TEA. That information and other data is used to create a number of reports that provide information about a variety of topics, such as student performance, spending and implementation of legislation.
Texas Fact Book
Published every two years by the Legislative Budget Board. Includes contact information for all members of Legislature, maps of Legislative complex and statistics on population, state spending, and exports.
Texas Higher Education Data
Provides statistics and reports on higher education in Texas.
Texas Quickfacts
Basic demographics about the state of Texas from the U. S. Census Bureau.
Texas State Data Center
The Texas State Data Center and Office of the State Demographer, in cooperation with a network of affiliates, functions as a focal point for the distribution of Census information for Texas. The Center also disseminates population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other information from the federal government, state government, and other sources.
Obesity Program Reports for Texas and U.S.
A collection of national and Texas obesity related reports
Texas Department of State Health Services, Center for Health Statistics
"The DSHS Center for Health Statistics was established to provide a convenient access point for health-related data for Texas. Our objective is to be a source of information for assessment of community health and for public health planning. [The] data are used to support research, grant applications and policy development and to provide rapid needs response to health emergencies." Several links to health related data are provided on this site.

Bexar County

Bexar County Quickfacts
Enter Bexar County in the search box for basic demographics about Bexar County from the U. S. Census Bureau.

PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.
Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.

Planning and Development Services Department Demographic Documents
Demographics, the "statistical study of human populations, "provides comprehensive information to help better understand current customers and prospects. Staff utilizes demographics effectively for more precise site selection, marketing, advertising, development, forecasting and more.
LexisNexis Community Crime Map
maps out crimes within a city
San Antonio and Bexar County Health & Demographic Statistics
Provides information about the state of health in the San Antonio area.
Uniform Crime Reports
Provides information about crime in San Antonio.
Bexar County & San Antonio Health Reports
Reports include mortality, STDS, infectious diseases, Flu reports, maternal and child, as well as general demographics.

San Antonio

Crime Data and Statistics
Health Data and Statistics
San Antonio Quickfacts
Basic demographics about San Antonio from the U. S. Census Bureau.
Bexar County & San Antonio Health Reports
Reports include mortality, STDS, infectious diseases, Flu reports, maternal and child, as well as general demographics.

PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.
Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.