A&M-SA Research Guides: Data for the Social Sciences Research Guide: National

Library Database-Secondary Data

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (University of Michigan) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides social science research data in disciplines such as sociology, political science, criminology, history, psychology, and more, that may be used to conduct secondary analyses. Includes access to over 7,000 data collections and 500,000 files.
Cross National Time Series Data Archive (Databanks International) This link opens in a new window
The Cross National Time Series Data Archive is a comprehensive resource that provides historical data on a wide range of socio-economic and political indicators for various countries. Established to support academic research, the archive includes time series data that span over two centuries, offering insights into global patterns and trends. Researchers use this data to analyze and compare national developments across different time periods and regions, making it a valuable tool for studies in political science, economics, sociology, and history.

General, Census, and Demographics

data.census.gov (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau which includes statistics about population, housing, industry, and business.

IPUMS
IPUMS has created the world’s largest accessible database of census microdata. IPUMS includes almost a billion records from U.S. censuses from 1790 to the present and over a billion records from the international censuses of over 100 countries. We have also harmonized survey data with over 30,000 integrated variables and 150 million records, including the Current Population Survey, the American Community Survey, the National Health Interview Survey, the Demographic and Health Surveys, and an expanding collection of labor force, health, and education surveys. In total, IPUMS currently disseminates integrated microdata describing 1.4 billion individuals drawn from over 750 censuses and surveys.

Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.
PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.

GSS Data Explorer
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.

The GSS is a publicly available national resource, and is one of the most frequently analyzed sources of information in the social sciences. GSS Data Explorer is one of many ways that NORC supports the dissemination of GSS data for use by legislators, policymakers, researchers, educators and others.
Our World in Data
Our World in Data provides 2746 charts across 297 topics. All data and charts are open access (CC-BY). Based at the University of Oxford.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This authority for statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the U.S. provides a snapshot of America and its people with data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and other Federal agencies and private organizations.
United States Census Bureau (U.S. Department of Commerce) This link opens in a new window
Offers data for population and housing censuses, economic censuses, censuses of governments, and American Community surveys.

Gallup
Gallup.Com provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research. Topics for data include, economy, education, politics, and well-being.
Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends
Studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project
The Pew Internet & American Life Project is one of seven projects that make up the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan, nonprofit "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
Population Reference Bureau
U.S. population estimates and trends in graphics and text.
County and city data book,1944-1977, 1983, and 1988, (ICPSR)
ICPSR's holdings of the County and City Data Books cover the years 1944-1977, 1983, and 1988, and consist of several datasets that include economic, demographic, governmental, and electoral data for diverse areas such as regions, counties, individual states, census divisions, cities, Standard Metropolitan Statistical Areas (SMSAs), Standard Federal Administrative Regions, and incorporated and non-incorporated places with over 25,000 inhabitants, in the entire United States. The data were obtained mainly from the United States Bureau of the Census, but data were also acquired from various other federal agencies and national sources, including private sources. A major purpose of this data series was to provide multi-area comparisons or single-area profiles. The datasets include items drawn from decennial censuses, economic censuses, censuses of population and housing, and censuses of agriculture.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. RDG advances the evidence-building capabilities of the Federal government, which was a key goal of the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018.
Data.gov
Excellent and growing source for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labor and employment.

Health and Well-being Data

National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
HealthData.gov
HealthData.gov is an online source for health-related data. It is constantly being updated, and includes thousands of data sets that can be downloaded.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Statistics & Data
The CDC is the primary public health institute of the United States. They provide data on a variety of topics related to health care and disease.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), FastStats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
The CMS is a US government agency that works with individual states to provide Medicare and Medicaid benefits.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The AHRQ is an agency in the United States, dedicated to making American health care higher quality, safer, more efficient, and more effective.

PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.
Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.

Kaiser Family Foundation
The Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit that offers research, journalism, and communications programs with a focus on health care. They conduct surveys and polls on a variety of topics related to health.
Health System Tracker (KFF)
The Peterson Center on Healthcare and KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) are partnering to monitor how well the U.S. healthcare system is performing in terms of quality and cost. The Peterson-KFF Health System Tracker provides clear, up-to-date information on trends, drivers and issues that impact the performance of the system. It also illustrates how the U.S. is performing relative to other countries and how different parts of the system are performing relative to one another.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
How you can use the DRC website
•Learn about the National Survey of Children’s Health and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs
•Browse national and state findings on hundreds of child health indicators
•Download and print snapshot profiles on key topical areas for your state
•Request a dataset and conduct in-depth data analyses on your own
•Learn to use data more effectively
•Discover how other state and family leaders use these findings
•Get expert help by e-mailing us your questions – plus get links to other data sets and resources for improving children’s health and healthcare
The National Health Interview Survey (IPUMS)
The National Health Interview Survey is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.
Health Poll Search
Health Poll Search is a comprehensive, searchable archive of health-related public opinion questions that allows users to know what Americans think and have thought about health issues over time. Health Poll Search is the result of a partnership between the Kaiser Family Foundation and The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at the University of Connecticut.
Our World in Data
Our World in Data provides 2746 charts across 297 topics. All data and charts are open access (CC-BY). Based at the University of Oxford.
CDC: Surveys and Data Collection Systems
The National Center for Health Statistics compiles four major surveys each years. This site links to these surveys.
CDC Overweight and Obesity Data and Statistics
Public health surveillance is the ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use in planning, interpretation, and evaluation of public health practice. The latest statistics, surveillance systems, state indicator reports and maps related to obesity are provided.
CDC WONDER
CDC WONDER furthers CDC's mission of health promotion and disease prevention by speeding and simplifying access to public health information for state and local health departments, the Public Health Service, and the academic public health community. CDC WONDER is valuable in public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation.
KIDS COUNT
The Annie E. Casey Foundation’s 23rd KIDS COUNT Data Book measures data that looks into the welfare of American children.
Carolina Population Center
Provides descriptions and links for variety of population research projects (mainly focused on the United States), many of which have data available for download.
Health and Retirement Study
The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study (HRS) is a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of more than 26,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years. Supported by the National Institute on Aging (NIA U01AG009740) and the Social Security Administration, the HRS explores the changes in labor force participation and the health transitions that individuals undergo toward the end of their work lives and in the years that follow.
Comparative Agendas Project
The Comparative Agendas Project (CAP) assembles and codes information on the policy processes of governments from around the world. Sponsored by several universities including UT-Austin.
The Guttmacher Institute
The Guttmacher Institute is a leading research and policy organization committed to advancing sexual and reproductive health and rights in the United States and globally.
GSS Data Explorer
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.

The GSS is a publicly available national resource, and is one of the most frequently analyzed sources of information in the social sciences. GSS Data Explorer is one of many ways that NORC supports the dissemination of GSS data for use by legislators, policymakers, researchers, educators and others.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. RDG advances the evidence-building capabilities of the Federal government, which was a key goal of the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018.

Economics and Labor

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) (U.S. Department of Labor) This link opens in a new window
Responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy, the BLS compiles information and statistics on topics such as inflation, prices, employment, unemployment, pay, benefits, time use, and more.
PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.
Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.

Our World in Data
Our World in Data provides 2746 charts across 297 topics. All data and charts are open access (CC-BY). Based at the University of Oxford.
ALFRED: ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data
ALFRED allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time.
Gallup
Gallup.Com provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research. Topics for data include, economy, education, politics, and well-being.
Economic Census
Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy. This official count, better known as the Economic Census, serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis) This link opens in a new window
Access over 214,000 United States and international time series, such as gross domestic product, civilian unemployment rate, and money stock. Manipulate data by creating maps and graphs or download data in Microsoft Excel.

Federal Reserve System
Provides information on current interest rates, consumer price index, and other economic data.
United States Economy at a Glance
The Burea of Labor Statistics provides this snapshot of the American economy for the past six months.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. RDG advances the evidence-building capabilities of the Federal government, which was a key goal of the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018.

Women and Minorities

Center for American Women and Politics
This page contains current numbers of women officeholders serving in 2017 with links on the right to basic fact sheets for each level of office.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research
Pew Hispanic Center
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation.
U.S. Census Population Statistics
Includes data on a variety of topics related to the population such as age, gender, race, &language use.
State & County Quickfacts (U.S. Census Bureau)
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
The Office of Minority Health
The Office of Minority Health provides the most current quantitative information related to minority health. This includes sourcing and maintaining a body of expert knowledge on minority health status initiatives, and demographic statistics and analyses on minority populations, compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics, the Census Bureau, private foundations, clinical practitioners, private data sources and public agencies.
Women's Bureau- U.S. Department of Labor
Current and historical statistics on a broad range of topics and sub-populations of women in the labor force
Women's Health, CDC
Statistics for women for health status, health risk factors, health care utilization, preventative care, hospital inpatient care.
Institute for Women's Policy Research
State and national reports, data, and infographics about women's labor

PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.

Our World in Data
Our World in Data provides 2746 charts across 297 topics. All data and charts are open access (CC-BY). Based at the University of Oxford.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. RDG advances the evidence-building capabilities of the Federal government, which was a key goal of the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018.

Education

National Center for Education Statistics
The purpose of the National Center for Education Statistics' website is to provide clear, complete information about NCES' mission and activities, and to serve the research, education and other interested communities.

PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.
Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.

Nation's Report Card
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), first administered in 1969, is the largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing. Standard administration practices are implemented to provide a common measure of student achievement.
American Federation of Teachers Salary Survey
AFT statistics are gathered from an annual Teacher Salary Survey and include the "Survey and Analysis of Teacher Salary Trends" and the "AFT Public Employees Compensation Survey." Reports are in .pdf format.
Condition of Education Reports
An annual report to Congress by the National Center for Education Statistics that focuses on 60 indicators, representing a consensus of professional judgment on the most significant national measures of the condition and progress of education. Older Condition of Education reports are also available.
Gallup
Gallup.Com provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research. Topics for data include, economy, education, politics, and well-being.
Our World in Data
Our World in Data provides 2746 charts across 297 topics. All data and charts are open access (CC-BY). Based at the University of Oxford.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. RDG advances the evidence-building capabilities of the Federal government, which was a key goal of the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018.

Crime

PolicyMap (PolicyMap) This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative public and proprietary sources. PolicyMap allows users to make maps, find specific locations, and create market reports.
Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
FBI Statistics
The FBI publishes or contributes to a series of statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining trends that can help you better understand crime threats both nationally and locally.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Data from more than 200 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It is broken down into many topic areas. The site is updated regularly as new statistics become available.
DEA Data & Statistics
The mission of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to the criminal and civil justice system of the United States. This site provides statistics collected by the agency.
ATF Statistics
A key component of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives’ (ATF) enforcement mission is the tracing of firearms on behalf of thousands of Federal, State, local and foreign law enforcement agencies. Firearms trace data is critically important information developed by ATF. ATF has prepared the following state-by-state reports utilizing trace data which is intended to provide the public with insight into firearms recoveries.
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. The data are drawn from the OPE Campus Safety and Security Statistics website database to which crime statistics and fire statistics (as of the 2010 data collection) are submitted annually.
Our World in Data
Our World in Data provides 2746 charts across 297 topics. All data and charts are open access (CC-BY). Based at the University of Oxford.
GSS Data Explorer
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.

The GSS is a publicly available national resource, and is one of the most frequently analyzed sources of information in the social sciences. GSS Data Explorer is one of many ways that NORC supports the dissemination of GSS data for use by legislators, policymakers, researchers, educators and others.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. RDG advances the evidence-building capabilities of the Federal government, which was a key goal of the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018.

Immigration

Homeland Security Data & Statistics
This site provides information on immigration. These key data sets published by the Office of Immigration Statistics.
Mexican Migration Project
Since its inception, the MMP's main focus has been to gather social as well as economic information on Mexican-US migration. The data collected has been compiled in a comprehensive database that is available to the public free of charge for research and educational purposes through this web-site.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. RDG advances the evidence-building capabilities of the Federal government, which was a key goal of the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018.

Religion

The Association of Religion Data Archives
The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers, and includes nearly 400 data files. Currently housed in the Social Science Research Institute at the Pennsylvania State University, the ARDA is funded by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, and the Pennsylvania State University. Includes National Profiles, U.S. Denominations, and GIS Maps and Reports regarding religion.
Pew Research Center: Relgion & Public Life
Studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans on various topics related to religion. This project contains public opinion polls, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research on the topic of religion. Contains reports published since 2001.
GSS Data Explorer
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.

The GSS is a publicly available national resource, and is one of the most frequently analyzed sources of information in the social sciences. GSS Data Explorer is one of many ways that NORC supports the dissemination of GSS data for use by legislators, policymakers, researchers, educators and others.

Social Explorer Academic (Social Explorer) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.

ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. RDG advances the evidence-building capabilities of the Federal government, which was a key goal of the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018.