A&M-SA Research Guides: Social Studies Methods PreK-12 Research Guide: Find Multimedia &amp; Professional Organizations

Find Social Studies Multimedia

Use the links for Social Studies-focused multimedia, including streaming video

Academic Video Online: Premium (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, commercials, training, lectures, etc. from varied sources (PBS, CBS, BBC, NBC, Insight Media, etc.) covering education, counseling and therapy, humanities, politics & current affairs, and more.
Ambrose Video Publishing (Ambrose Video Publishing) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to video collections: 16th-20th Century Turning Points in America, BBC Shakespeare Plays, Great American Authors, A History of Hispanic Achievement in America, A History of Women’s Achievement in America, and When the Water Tap Runs Dry.
Kanopy (Kanopy Streaming) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An on-demand streaming video platform with a collection of documentaries, classics, and indie films.
Visual History Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the USC Shoah Foundation, this online database contains video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide from the Armenian Genocide, the Nanjing Massacre, the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Holocaust.
Artstor Digital Library (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over 2 million images from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists covering the areas of anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, world history, and more.
Master Academic Video Collection (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains streaming full-length videos and clips in a wide variety of subject areas from producers including TED, PBS, National Geographic, A&E, BBC, and more.

Professional Organizations for Social Studies Teachers

These are examples of organizations that may be of interest to Social Studies Teachers.

NOTE: Not a complete list

National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
Since its 1921 founding "the mission of the National Council for the Social Studies is to advocate and build capacity for high-quality social studies by providing leadership, services, and support to educators."
American Association of Geographers (AAG)
Founded in 1904, the mission of the AAG is to share and cultivate interest in the study of geography--including its theory, methods, and practice.
American Association for State & Local History (AASLH)
As stated on their website, "AASLH provides leadership and support for its members who preserve and interpret state and local history to make the past more meaningful."
American Historical Association (AHA)
According to their website, "The American Historical Association is the largest professional organization serving historians in all fields and all professions. The AHA is a trusted voice advocating for history education, the professional work of historians, and the critical role of historical thinking in public life."
Council for Economic Education (CEE)
The CEE's vision as stated on their website is "To reach and teach every child in America about personal finance and economics" to help them "make informed decisions"
Texas State Historical Association (TSHA)
Founded in 1897, TSHA's mission as stated on its website is to “foster the appreciation, understanding, and teaching of the rich and unique history of Texas and, by example and through programs and activities, encourage and promote research, preservation, and publication of historical material affecting the state of Texas.”
San Antonio Historical Association (SAHA)
According to its website, in 1940, the SAHA "was organized for the purpose of promoting the study and appreciation of the history of Texas with special emphasis on San Antonio and its environs."
National Council for Geographic Educators (NCGE)
NCGE promotes geographic teaching by providing professional development opportunities, producing journals and other geography publications, developing and distributing content and resources, honoring teachers, mentors and researchers; advocating for geography in schools; and organizing an annual conference and other forums for educators. The site's three main areas are Teacher Resources, Professional Development, and Connecting Educators.
American Political Science Association (APSA)
Founded in 1903, the goal of APSA is to "deepen our understanding of politics, democracy, and citizenship throughout the world." It "promotes a lively, diverse community of scholars, teachers, students, and practitioners who bring wide-ranging interests, methodologies, and perspectives to the analysis and conduct of government and politics."
World History Association
"The object of the association shall be the promotion of world history through the encouragement of research, publication, and teaching. The association shall promote activities that will increase awareness of world history through its annual meeting, along with any other activities that the President and Council deem appropriate to further this aim. As a result, the association will consistently and explicitly engage scholars, teachers, and students of world history with this evolving field of study and with each other."
Oral History Association (OHA)
"OHA engages with policy makers, educators, and others to help foster best practices and encourage support for oral history and oral historians. With an international membership, OHA serves a broad and diverse audience including teachers, students, community historians, archivists, librarians, and filmmakers."
National Geographic Society - Education
The site includes a blog, links to classroom resources, professional development opportunities and grant funding of up to $10,000 per project. Be sure to check out the Educator Grants page.