This Biology guide is intended to be a starting point for students who need to perform search and write a research paper. We have tutorials, videos, and information on how to obtain books/e-books, peer-reviewed articles, web resources and information on writing and plagiarism.
The following databases provide access to thousands of scholarly journals and peer-reviewed articles:
This link opens in a new windowEncompasses all aspects of agriculture, including veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and environmental sciences.
This link opens in a new windowResearchers can stay up to date in their fields through these critical reviews of primary research literature written by leading scientists. This collection covers 41 disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
This link opens in a new windowBioMed Central is a publisher of 220 open access, peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine. Subject coverage ranges from anesthesiology to blood disorders, infectious diseases, plant biology, and sports medicine.
This link opens in a new windowA global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
This link opens in a new windowArticles and monographs from the 1940s pertaining to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental technology and law, urban planning and more.
This link opens in a new windowUpgraded from JSTOR Biological Sciences (JSTOR). Spanning more than 340 years of science history and research, this collection covers aquatic science, biological sciences, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, zoology, and more, as well as broad coverage of health sciences.
This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
This link opens in a new windowAccess journals published by Nature Publishing Group (NPG), such as Nature, Scientific American, and more. Content covers life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.
A service of the National Library of Medicine that provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
This link opens in a new windowContains information covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text access to over 2300 peer-reviewed, Elsevier journals from 2010-present. Search for information pertaining to the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and more.
This link opens in a new windowThis archive provides access to extensive ornithological literature of international scope and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. The content is both searchable and browseable.
This link opens in a new windowAccess multidisciplinary research delivered with info on emerging trends, subject specific content, and analysis tools. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980-present.
Find A Specific Journal: If you are looking for a certain journal or finding an article from a citation, click the link and then click the Articles tab.
You can access library resources by searching Google Scholar!
If you are on-campus and using either the Internet Explorer or Firefox browser, you will be automatically recognized as a member of the A&M-SA community. If you are off-campus or using the Google Chrome browser while on-campus, you will need to configure the settings for Google Scholar so that it knows you are a member of the A&M-SA community. Please see How to Set Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Use for instructions.
Please keep in mind that not everything available through your library is cited on Google Scholar, so be sure to also use the library's online databases for your research needs. You can also ask your subject librarian for help!
You will need to enter your A&M-SA network username and password to get into the library's databases from off-campus. If you need assistance with this, please visit our Off-Campus Access page.
For other ways to connect with us visit our Contact Us page.
Please visit our calendar for a day by day breakdown of the library's hours of operation.
Looking for a quiet place to study or a space to collaborate with group members? The library has lots of study rooms to fit your needs. Visit this calendar to select the date/time you wish to reserve your room.