A&M-SA Research Guides: Ecology Research Guide: Helpful Websites

Websites

Global Invasive Species Database
A database where you can find any information on genus, species, or common name.
Web Soil Survey (USDA)
Soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties

PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Tropicos
Over 1.2 million scientific names and 4 million specimen records.
Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
Flora of North America
FNA presents for the first time, in one published reference source, information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico.
Native Plant Information Network
This site provides descriptions and photographs of native North American plants.
AQUAPLANT
AQUAPLANT is designed to help you identify aquatic plants using photos, drawings, and descriptions.
Trees of Texas
Provides sketches, descriptions and information about the tree species of Texas.

BIODIC: The Ultrastructures
- BIODIC offers the widest series of electron micrographs available on the web in the field of biology: over 1600 images are currently available in high resolution.
NSF Multimedia Gallery
- Images from the National Science Foundation's Multimedia Gallery
Science.gov
- The Image Search is now fully integrated into the Science.gov search. If you wish to search only these sources, select Multimedia on the results page after you conduct your search.
USDA Plant Image Gallery
- Photos and line drawings of U.S. plants, including many cultivated or foreign taxa.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Ecology and Natural Resources Collection
The Ecology and Natural Resources Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries.
Flora, Fauna, and the Human Form
Included in the collection are biological and natural history studies depicting plant and animal forms, including works on herbs, insects, human physiognomy, genetics, and eugenics. This collection also includes works by and about Gregor Mendel.
Herbals & Early Gardening Books
These books are what are called "herbals". Writers of early herbals were more concerned with curing illnesses than describing plants, and thus these early publications included remedies not only from the plant world, but also from the animal and mineral kingdoms.